April ’16: Reading Challenges Recap

2016

Despite reading a lot of books in April, I didn’t read too many that contribute to my reading challenges. But on the plus side, it looks like I’m half way to meeting my Debut Author Challenge and Finishing the Series Challenge goals and we’re not even six months into the year. Looking ahead, I have a feeling my progress is about to slow. Many of my reads for the coming months are not debuts or series enders, and I’m actually going to try to hold off on buying more books which means I’ll be checking out a lot of books from the library in the coming months (after I wrote this, I may have bought more books than I intended to, don’t judge me).

~~~

debutchallenge

2016 Debut Author Challenge:

2016 Goal: 12 books

Debut Books Read in April: 2

Overall Progress: 6

The 2016 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This month I picked up Samantha Mabry’s A Fierce and Subtle Poison and Jeff Zentner’s The Serpent King. I expected to like both more than I did, but I do think they’re still worth the read, but maybe not the amount of hype one of them is receiving. Covers are linked to my reviews.

Debut Books Read This Month:

 alt=

2016 Finishing the Series Challenge:Finishing the Series

2016 Goal: 7 series

Series Read in April: 2

Overall Progress: 4

The 2016 Finishing the Series Challenge is hosted by Bea’s Book Nook. I read the final books in two of my favorite series ever and was so sad I had to say goodbye, but I’m a big fan of rereading, so hopefully it won’t be long before I pick these up again. Covers are linked to my reviews.

Books Read/Series Finished:

 alt=  alt=

2016 Read My Books Challenge:2016 Read My Books

2016 Goal: 30 books

Number of My Books Read in April: 2

Overall Progress: 10

The 2016 Read My Books Challenge is hosted by The Worn Bookmark. I didn’t get to too many of my own books (though I did buy an awful lot) this month. I did reread a few of my own books, but I’m not going to include them (though it’s tempting) for this challenge. This month I only managed to read my own copies of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Kiss and Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven King. Both were amazing by the way.

Have you read any great (or terrible) debuts lately? What is the most recent series that you’ve finished? Feel free to leave a link to your own challenge recap post and I’ll check it out.

**Side Note: I’m co-hosting the Comment Challenge this summer. We’re pairing bloggers together every month and encouraging lots of commenting on each other’s blogs. If you’re interested, you can find out all the info here. I’d love for you to take a look…**

15 thoughts on “April ’16: Reading Challenges Recap

  1. *clapping hands* Progress, is still progress, and I’m glad you’re moving forward. I’m not sure where I’m at with my challenges to be quite honest. 😀 Behind for sure. Ugh. Well, it’s not from lack of reading, just like you, I’ve been distracted from my goals. I just finished reading book 1 of a new series from Kat Ross — The Midnight Seas — and I loved it! So goooood, Alicia. It drives me nuts that the review is ready to published but my tour date is not until May 17th. Keep up the great work on your challenges. Later, auntie with a writeout loving niece. 😛 (8 is a great age! They’re think they’re adults.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lonna, I’m reading The Midnight Seas right now and am LOVING it. I wasn’t sure at first because it’s so “foreign” for lack of a better word. But the author does a good job of explaining things and keeping you in the action.
      Alicia, I too am failing on my challenges. Not because I’m not reading, but because I’m reading a lot of ARCs right now. I did read a debut book – The Edge of Chaos by Molly E. Lee — that I really enjoyed.

      Hope you have a great Mother’s Day!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Carey! I’m so glad you’re enjoying The Midnight Sea too. OMG, Ross is brutal to her characters. No one is spared. Love her style; she’s a keeper. 😉

        Like

    • Thanks, Lonna! I’ve been posting my reviews of books a week (or sometimes weeks) after I finish reading them because it’s nice to have several posts waiting in the wings, but when you’re excited about a book, you just want to shout it out to the world. My eight-year-old niece definitely thinks she’s an adult, fun and crazy times.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I’m such a dork! You know how you’re so focus on something that you miss the elephant in the room? Yeah, that was me!! I missed the gif at the bottom. Well, can we start over? HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!
    ~your aloof friend

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy birthday, Alicia! I’m probably a couple of days late but I hope you had a nice celebration and I wish you a year filled with good surprises.

    You seem to be doing really well with your challenges! I don’t think I’ve read a debut since The Girl From Everywhere, which I enjoyed a lot. I didn’t know a challenge existed for finishing series but I am slowly trying to do just that (it was one of my resolutions). I’ve been moderately successful so far. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kaja! I firmly believe if you wish someone happy birthday within a week, it’s totally fine. After a week, friendships are severed (kidding). I loved The Girl from Everywhere as well! Few debuts this year have truly impressed me, but this one was quite good. I have so many series I need to finish, I feel if I don’t make an effort, I’ll end up too bombarded with new books, I’ll never finish them.

      Like

Share your thoughts here!

