Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters I’d Love To Revisit As Adults

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults (ie a novella or something to see what they grew up to be) — you could always just pick YA characters you’ve read recently you wouldn’t mind revisiting in 10 years or so. Or you could pick 10 characters and guess what you think they’d be doing in 10 years or 20 years. OR you could go the other way and wish for coming of age stories for adult characters you love.” Oh, this was a tough topic. I feel like I’ve been focusing a lot on middle grade books, so this list is mostly composed of YA characters. Yes, most are close to adulthood, but I’d still love to revisit these character five or even ten years after the final book in their series have ended. And yes, this list contains a whole lot more than ten characters, don’t judge me. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Yael from Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin – This duology isn’t complete yet, so I don’t know what is going to happen to the main character or the world she lives in for that matter, but I do know that I am so invested in this novel that a book written ten years into the future would be so welcome.

2. Blue and the Boys from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater – Yes, I just finished this series, but I’m pretty sure I could read dozen more books featuring all these wonderful characters.

3. Kami and the Scooby Gang from The Lynburn Legacy by Sarah Rees Brennan – Apparently I just can’t let go of characters even after their series have ended. I’d love to know where Kami and company end up in ten years. How much trouble does Kami get into as an adult? Does she rope her friends into her crazy schemes?

4. Harry, Ron, and Hermione from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – Okay, we do get a glimpse into these three friends’ lives in the future at the end of book seven, but as a Potterhead, I’m going to need a lot more.

5. Widget, Poppet, and Bailey from the Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – Am I the only one that thinks these three deserve their own book? I’d love to follow them into their adult years and find out what’s become of them.

 alt=

6. Kaz and Co. from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – I am in love with this book and am so excited for the conclusion. I also know it probably won’t be enough, I’m going to want to read more books featuring these characters.

7. Todd and Viola from the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness – I love these two characters and after everything they’ve been through, it would be nice to see how their adult years turned out.

8. Liesel from The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak – My precious girl, I just want to make sure everything in Liesel’s life worked out well. I know we got some closure at the end of the novel, but I would have liked to have learned more.

9. Ponyboy from The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton – While making this list, it occurred to me that I have subconsciously given many characters I’ve read about happy endings. Ponyboy is one of those characters and it would be nice to know if I was right.

10. Georgiana Darcy from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I’d love to see what happened to Darcy’s little sister. I always imagined that Elizabeth would be a good influence on her and I’d love to see how she turned out.

Are you interested in finding out what happened to any these characters? Which characters would you like a glimpse of in the future? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

**Side Note: I’m co-hosting the Comment Challenge this summer and would love it if you joined us. We’re pairing bloggers together every month and encouraging lots of commenting on each other’s blogs. If you’re interested, you can find out all the info here.**

56 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters I’d Love To Revisit As Adults

  1. We get to see the Harry Potter trio again soon! So excited πŸ˜€
    I’ve heard a lot of great things about the Raven Cycle and Six of Crows. I’ve already bought the latter. Excited to get into it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I think just about everyone would want to revisit the Potter world and I guess at the very least we get to see more of them in Cursed Child. Too bad it’s just a play though. *Sigh* I definitely agree with your choice of Kaz and co. Hopefully we’ll get a pretty good resolution and you never know, we might hear more about them if she writes ANOTHER series set in the Grisha world, seeing as we hear about previous characters that were in S&B.

    Brittany @ http://www.spacebetweenthespines.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Definitely need more from Harry, Ron and Hermione, I’m so excited to see what we fond out in The Cursed Child! The Book Thief is another good one, there are some characters in there that I wouldn’t mind catching up with!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So many great picks this week! I love that you included Harry, Ron, and Hermione–more about them would be awesome! Also love Georgianna Darcy, Liesl, and the Night Circus characters. I would love to have more about all of them!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Liesel! Yeah, I’d so love to read about what she’s up to ten years after that awful horrible SAD ending of the book. Maybe she still steals books from time to time, too, wouldn’t that be interesting…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Is Wolf by Wolf a duology? I’m really invested in Yael as well, I’m really hoping everything will be alright in the sequel! And Ponyboy – I read that book for school and will forever remember that classic stay gold line, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I would definitely LOVE to see Widget, Bailey and Poppets future!!! Sign me up for that book. I am also sort of embarrassingly fond of professional Jane Austen Fan fiction and I’ve read a ridiculous amount of it. I don’t think I’ve come across one about Georgiana and there are definitely some unplumbed depths there to explore. Great ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. How perfect was The Raven Cycle I’m honestly so 😍😍😍 over those books. I need so, so much more. I keep rereading all my favourite parts of The Raven King. I’d be happy with novellas or a spin off series or like ANYTHING. I’m willing to beg Maggie πŸ˜‚ Same goes for Harry Potter! I need more!

    So many of these books are on my TBR too. I really want to read Six of Crows and I’ve heard great things about Wolf by Wolf!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. These are fabulous choices! One reason why I only looked at a certain time-frame for my choices because I knew it would be too hard to choose otherwise. Too many good books (not that I’m really complaining). πŸ˜‰ Thanks for stopping by mine as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love so many of the characters you picked for this weeks topic. I absolutely adore Yael and I can’t wait to see where her path takes her in the sequel. I have a feeling it’s going to one tense ride.

    The Raven Cycle. Blue and her Raven Boys will always have a special place in my heart. I’m currently reading The Raven King and I am both excited and terrified to see how things come to an end. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Georgiana Darcy is a great choice for this week’s topic. I think she must have become an extraordinary woman – I mean, she was really well-educated and once she got over her teenage shyness, she must have been amazing. πŸ™‚ Someone should totally write that novel.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: May ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

