Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Thrills Only a Bookworm Can Understand

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Bookworm Delights.” Limiting this list to only ten was quite the feat. If given enough time, I’d probably come up with a hundred thrills for this list. These are the first ten I came up with.

1. The Smell of New Books – I have this silly/crazy/odd/only-bookworms-can-understand ritual. Whenever I receive a new book, whether through the mail or at a store, I always crack open its pages and take a nice long whiff. As I’ve discovered, some books smell batter than others.

2. The Smell of a Used Bookstore – Much like the smell of new books, I also love the smell of old books. There’s something truly unique about the smell of a second-hand bookstore. I never tire of it and hope someday someone will bottle its fragrance.

3. Bookmail – Is there anything more pleasant than coming home to a pile of bookmail? I just love it when you order a bunch of books and they all arrive on the same day.

4. Rearranging Your Bookshelves – I love rearranging my bookshelves. I do it all the time. Every once in a while I just get the urge to take all my books down and do a little alphabetizing/genre-ing/rainbowing/no-one-knows-how-this-is-arranged-but-it-makes-sense-in-my-head-ing. There’s something so satisfying about it.

5. Multiple Editions of Your Favorite Books – Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book. This is the explantation I give whenever someone asks me why I have seven different editions of the book. And I still want more! Currently, I’m coveting this one.

6. Book “Swag” – It was only recently that I discovered you can get some pretty neat book swag (booksmarks/bags/art cards) for preordering certain books and since I preorder a good amount, this is something I really need to look into more often.

7. Library Holds – There’s nothing more romantic than getting that special phone call from that special automated message machine telling you that your library holds have come in.

8. Rereading Books – I’m a big believer in rereading books. Having just spent this last week rereading the first three books in Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle series, I can say with certainty that there’s something wonderful about rereading favorite books and discovering that they keep becoming more and more wonderful.

9. Cover Art – No, this isn’t just about cover art; although, I will say that I drool over a good deal of books based on the cover alone. This thrill comes when you realize that the book behind the glorious cover art is just as breathtaking as its cover.

10. Endless TBR Lists – Let us take a moment to appreciate that no matter how many books we read, there will always be another book waiting to be picked up. There will never be a moment in our bookish lives when we run out of books to read and that is hugely comforting.

Do you agree with these bookish thrills? Have a favorite on my list? Hook me up with your own TTT list, so I can visit!

60 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Thrills Only a Bookworm Can Understand

  1. Great list. I need to reread more. I do when a book in a series comes out to refresh my memory, but rarely just for enjoyment of a series all over again.
    I don’t particular like the smell of books, though. I’m allergic to dust and used books often irritate my eyes. I try not to inhale lol. I have to shake and clean the dust off of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that moment when the cover makes sense. Also library holds (though my notification comes via email) and gigantic TBR lists. I don’t own that many books, as I’m a huge library user (and a fast-reading cheapskate), but as I’ve built up a sizable classroom library, I’ve had a lot of fun making displays and reorganizing it periodically.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rearranging a bookshelf can be quite a task. Aside from obsessing over what classification to use (by title? by genre? by author? b publisher? by height? XP ), I sneak in a few reads, and I end up not getting things done. 😛 But the finished product–an efficient and lovely bookshelf–is in itself a thrilling!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Seeing the multiple editions of your favorite book is always great, but trying not to buy them all is always hard! 😐 If I didn’t have the willpower, or just didn’t care if I were broke, I would want to own every cover of The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. That book has some great covers! 🙂 Great Top Ten!
    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I totally agree with the whole smell thing! I just can’t get enough of the smell of books and bookstores! I’ve not gotten bookmail in a long while, not since I’ve moved on to Kindle, and I usually get my books from the bookstore. I’d love to have time to reread…and I believe in the power of it…but rarely find the time to do so. Lovely list!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well, that was a loonngg scroll down. It appears that your TTT is always a favorite of others, and of mine too! I love how you’ve describe the library hold as “romantic.” I get my notice by e-mail. I agree that each time the library contacts me with a hold–it’s like a brush of something exciting that flutters in my tummy. Though, I do not like the late notices very much. Harumph 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: April ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

