Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Sure to Make You Laugh

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh (or at least chuckle).” Last week my list was comprised of favorite middle grade reads and when I realized this week’s topic was books that make you laugh, I kind of regretted it because so many of those books fit the bill. I’ll do my best and try not to repeat myself too much. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. The Lynburn Legacy series by Sarah Rees Brennan – Kami Glass is one of the sassiest characters I’ve come across in fiction. This series has the ability to make you both laugh and cry (I did both).

2. Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter – I grew very attached to the girls in this series. The first book starts off very light and funny, but as these “spies-in-training” get older, so do the stakes.

3. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling – Yes, Harry Potter may just be mandatory on these Top Ten Tuesday lists, but have you realized how funny the series is?

4. Penryn and the End of Days series by Susan Ee – Penryn and Raffe’s amusing rapport in this series may be my favorite thing about it.

5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – Have you ever read a novel and feel that the author just gets you? This is how I feel about Austen, her humor is so aligned with my own it’s almost unnerving.

 alt=

6. My Fair Godmother by Janette Rallison – This is the perfect book if you’re looking for something light and funny. It’s been years since I read it, but it still brings a smile to my face.

7. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan – Now, I’ve only read the first book in the series, but based on that and what everyone says, this entire series is sure to make you laugh.

8. The Princess Bride by William Goldman – If you’re a fan of the movie, you’ll enjoy the novel. William Goldman actually wrote the screenplay for the movie, so you can expect just as much humor in the novel.

9. Trouble Is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly – I really enjoyed this fun and humorous novel and wasn’t sure if there was going to be a sequel, but this year we’re going to get one and I’m really happy about it.

10. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde – This play is so silly and hilarious, if you haven’t had the pleasure of reading it, I highly recommend you do.

Have you read any of these books? Which books are on your list this week? Be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

50 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Sure to Make You Laugh

    • Jane Austen’s works are very much meant to poke fun at society. There’s so much to love about her books, so I hope you pick P&P up soon. I’m glad to hear so many have My Fair Godmother on it, I haven’t come across too many bloggers who know of the book.

      Like

  1. My Fair Godmother was definitely funny and goofy at times. It’s weird because I didn’t like that book that much when I read it, but as more time goes on, I feel like I like it more and more. That’s weird right?? Also, The Gallagher Girls!! I’ve been meaning to read those books FOREVER!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Austen does have a particular kind of humor in her stories, and I do enjoy the random snide comments her characters make from time to time (that Mrs. Bennet is a hoot and a half!).

    Ugh. I can’t believe I forgot Harry Potter on my list! Those books always made me laugh too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been meaning to read The Princess Bride ever since watching the film because I know it will be very entertaining. And I hadn’t considered The Princess Bride, but now I’m thinking about, Mr. Bennett made me laugh a lot when I read it.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

