Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Every Reader Who’s a Kid at Heart Should Read

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books Every X Should Read (up to you! Examples: every history nerd, memoir lover, ballet lover, feminist, college student, etc etc.).” Am I the only one that had trouble coming up with a list for this week? I jumped from one topic to another before deciding that I really wanted to highlight some of my favorite middle grade books. I mostly read YA, but I am not immune to the charm of a good MG read and if you’ve never had the pleasure, I highly recommend the following. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling – HP will forever hold the permanent number one spot on a favorite middle grade book list. Magic, bravery, friendship. HP teaches valuable lessons that aren’t just good for children.

“There are some things you can’t share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them.”

2. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle – This book is a children’s classic, a classic that took me until I was an adult to read. I picked this up and immediately fell in love. I can’t help but think my twelve-year-old self would have found this book to be magical.

“My child, do not despair. Do you think we would have brought you here if there were no hope? We are asking you to do a difficult thing, but we are confident you can do it.”

3. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery – This is another book I wished I had picked up when I was younger. Anne is a fiery little thing with a wonderful imagination. She gets into a lot of mishaps, but you love her for it. Even if you haven’t read the book, you must at least see the classic adaptation:

4. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke – There’s something about this book that feels irrevocably like home. It’s a book about books and it just captures the magic of the written word.

“The books in Mo and Meggie’s house were stacked under tables, on chairs, in the corners of the rooms. There where books in the kitchen and books in the lavatory. Books on the TV set and in the closet, small piles of books, tall piles of books, books thick and thin, books old and new. They welcomed Meggie down to breakfast with invitingly opened pages; they kept boredom at bay when the weather was bad. And sometimes you fall over them.”

5. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan – Why did I not pick up this series sooner? I still need to finish this series, but this first book was so much fun. It’s perfect for kids (and adults) looking for an adventurous story with plenty of laughs.

“I’d love to tell you I had some deep revelation on my way down, that I came to terms with my own mortality, laughed in the face of death, et cetera.

The truth? My only thought was: Aaaaggghhhhh!”

 alt=

6. Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen – This may be the cutest middle grade read I’ve ever read. If you remember the time when boys (or girls) were no longer “icky”, this book is sure to resonate with you.

“Get beyond his eyes and his smile and the sheen of his hair — Look at what’s really there.”

7. The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen – I didn’t really realize this series was a middle grade series until recently. I personally feel that it reads more like a YA novel. The protagonist Sage is about as cheeky a character as I’ve ever come across, but I love him anyway.

“Valuable lessons were code words for pain that no one apologized for.”

8. The Name of This Book Is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch – This book is hilarious. It had me smiling from the very first page, it’s so darn charming, I can’t even put it into words.

“Generally speaking, books don’t cause much harm. Except when you read them, that is. Then they cause all kinds of problems.”

9. Savvy by Ingrid Law – Because I think we all secretly wish we had some kind of superpower, even if you’re not a kid anymore.

“You never can tell when a bad thing might make a good thing happen.”

10. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman – If you were like me when I was a kid, you liked creepy stories. And if anything like me now, you still like creepy stories.

“It’s only death. I mean, all of my best friends are dead.”

What are some books you recommend to those who are young at heart? Are you a fan of any of the books on this list? What topic did you choose this week? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

68 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Every Reader Who’s a Kid at Heart Should Read

  1. I also had trouble settling on a theme but I like the one you decided upon. I am quite obviously a child at heart because I really love a good MG read as well. I’ve read, and loved, a number of books on here and would especially like to read The False Prince and The Graveyard Book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay so Harry Potter is a no brainer for sure and I’m hoping to finally get to start the Percy Jackson series this month because…well it’s been too long! Great picks I haven’t heard of some of these but now my inner kid is making me want to pick them up as well ;0 like Inkheart. My Top Ten

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have not read a lot of these but they all have such magical and beautiful covers! I always wanted to read Inkheart when I was little but never got around to it! The movie is so amazing tho and tied me over! And I probably recommend, the Gallagher Girls books by Ally Carter! They were my go to books when I was younger! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this week’s TTT. So many awesome topics. This is such a great pick. I haven’t read any of the books but they all seem quite interesting. I guess Middle Grade is pre-teens(sorry we don’t have that education system here), My MG reads would be Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys, Sweet Valley and Moses Series. They were quite popular in Kenya when I was young.

    My TTT for this week is on memoirs: https://dwgitau.wordpress.com/2016/04/12/ttt-ten-books-every-memoir-lover-should-read/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I will still love Harry Potter when I am 80 years old and reading it to my grandchildren! SO many good lessons to be learnt from those books!
    I started reading Percy Jackson years and years ago and I still haven’t gotten past the 4th book, I don’t know why because I love it, but there just always seems to be another book that I pick up first. Great choice of topic for this weeks list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awesome list! I’ve only read the first five on here and now I will be having to check out the others. Some of my students have been reading The Name of This Book is Secret. They seem to enjoy it.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I haven’t read the majority of these books, but A Wrinkle in Time is forever one of my favorites. I tried to teach it to a young girl I tutor, but her parents vetoed it because of “witchcraft.” I don’t know– I didn’t feel like fighting it. I suppose I definitely shouldn’t try teaching her my actual favorite books…Harry Potter.

    My TTT: http://brownbooksandgreentea.com/2016/04/12/clearing-the-shelf-for-arc-april/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad to hear that, I love A Wrinkle in Time. Haha, I shouldn’t laugh, but I don’t think I’d consider it a book about “witchcraft”. I have heard that many strict Christian sects don’t approve of the book. That’s too bad, I’m sure she would have enjoyed it. Ha! If they don’t approve of Wrinkle, the odds that they’d love HP are slim 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I ADORED A Wrinkle in Time when I read it in Elementary school, and went on to read more in that series. I should really reread it. And of course I’m a HP fan…though I got onto that fan-train later than most people.

    I have The False Prince on my TBR list, I think I need to get to it. I didn’t realize it was Middle Grade either, but it sounded so good!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Why does it not surprise me that you would lead this discussion with Harry Potter? 😉 I love MG. And, many of them read a lot like YA as you’ve pointed out with The False Prince, which I love by the way. Great list Alicia!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Considering how much I like the “Anne” movies, I don’t know why I’ve not read the books! Someday I should. Also, I really enjoyed the “Inkheart” film, so picking up the book might be of interest. 🙂 Fun topic, Alicia.

    Thanks for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

