March ’16: Reading Challenges Recap

2016

Yes, this post is a little late. I was hoping to do some serious reading toward these goals in the month of March, but I underestimated how difficult it would be to get my hands on certain debut novels (why, library, why must you make me wait?) and a couple of ARC review deadlines snuck (sneaked?) up on me. Still, I think I did pretty well considering how early it is in the year. I didn’t pick up anything toward the Finishing the Series challenge this month, but that will change next month when a couple of final books in (beloved) series will be released.

~~~

debutchallenge

2016 Debut Author Challenge:

2016 Goal: 12 books

Debut Books Read in March: 2

Overall Progress: 4

The 2016 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This month I picked up Rebel of the Sands and These Vicious Masks. Alwyn Hamilton’s novel was my first five-star read of the year (it only took till March!). I highly recommend picking it up if you like beautiful settings and interesting characters. These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas was marketed as a cross between Jane Austen and the X-Men, and while the novel didn’t quite live up to my own expectations, I still really enjoyed it. Covers below are linked to my reviews.

Debut Books Read This Month:

 alt=

2016 Read My Books2016 Read My Books Challenge:

2016 Goal: 30 books

Number of My Books Read in March: 2

Overall Progress: 8

The 2016 Read My Books Challenge is hosted by The Worn Bookmark. ARCs and library books really hindered me when it came to this challenge this month. I did get a chance to pick up two of my own books however: I read Rebel of the Sands and Sarah Fine’s Fractured.

How are your reading challenges shaping up for this year? Are you struggling with any or excelling phenomenally? Feel free to leave a link to your own challenge recap post in the comments and I’ll check it out.

10 thoughts on “March ’16: Reading Challenges Recap

  1. I need to read Rebel of the Sands so bad!! I have it as an ebook and I will soon. It’s making me excited to read again and to get me out of my terrible slump 😦 I’m super glad you liked it! Woooo more encouragement! ♥

    Jumana @ Books by Jay

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eek! Snuck or Sneaked? I’m incline to say snuck, but you bring up an excellent point. You’re making great progress on the debut challenge! I have to review my own challenge. 😀 I think I will do a half yearly update. Off the top of my head, I know I’ll also finish off two in Finishing the Series when The Rose and Dagger and The Last Star releases in May. Yes!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m unofficially doing the debut book challenge as well! I’ve also read These Vicious Masks! I gotta say it didn’t blow me away tho. I’m super excited to jump into Rebel of the Sands hopefully soon!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

