Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish People on Social Media You Should Follow

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Bookish People You Should Follow On Twitter/Instagram/Youtube/Snapchat/Facebook.” I don’t have a huge presence on social media, in fact I only have a Twitter and Tumblr account. I feel much more confident with the latter platform, so most of my recommendations will be from Tumblr. I’m splitting this list into little categories, so if you’re looking for something specific, I hope I’ve made it a little easier.

1. & 2. If you’re looking for Twitter chats…

I’ve only been on Twitter for about a year and I still feel like a newbie. Last year I participated in my first twitter chat and discovered that it’s such a great way to meet new bloggers. If you haven’t taken part in a bookish twitter chat, I highly recommend you do. Nori @ReadWriteLove28 and Brittany @bbookrambles are two bloggers who host twitter chats that I have taken part in, so check out their Twitter pages.

3. If you’re looking for book recommendations…

From books by diverse authors to Hogwarts house recs, Dakota @ Magic in Every Book has compiled really great book recommendation lists on Tumblr that I have found to be really helpful.

4-7. If you’re looking for a little humor or general mischief…

Author Lauren DeStefano is best known for her Chemical Garden trilogy, but even if you’re not a fan of her books (I actually have only enjoyed her MG novel), following her on Twitter (@LaurenDeStefano) is a must. Her tweets always make me snicker. Another Twitter account that always makes me smile is @broodingYAhero, I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve laughed out loud because of these tweets.

Now back to Tumblr recommendations…I know many of you probably follow author Maggie Stiefvater on Twitter, but have you followed her on Tumblr yet? She is hilarious and finds far too much pleasure teasing the Raven Cycle fandom. Check out her page here.

I know I’ve mentioned Literary Starbucks before on the blog, but if you haven’t had the pleasure of reading some of their posts (where they imagine authors/characters ordering Starbucks drinks), do it now! Here are a couple of their posts:

“Jane Eyre goes up to the counter and orders a venti earl grey tea. It is raining outside. The barista is ugly and cold to her, but she falls in love with him anyway. There is a banging from the back room of the Starbucks, but the barista seems unconcerned. “It won’t affect me bringing you your coffee,” he assures Jane. He is wrong about this.”

Romeo goes up to the counter and orders a white chocolate mocha. As he’s waiting for it, the barista sets down a hazelnut macchiato for someone else. Romeo is struck by the realization that this is the perfect drink for him, and takes it, forgetting that he and everyone in his family is allergic to nuts.

8. & 9. If you’re looking to drool over book photography…

It was hard to choose who to recommend for this category as I’ve come across so many wonderful bookish photographers on Tumblr. Rikke @ Paperback Castles always takes such stunning photos. Tilly @ Tilly and Her Books is probably the most popular book person on Tumblr (at least I think so), but she’s such a sweetheart and her personal library is to die for.

10. If you’re looking for one other person to follow…

Maybe consider me? Shameless self-promotion right here because I really can’t think of a final person to include on this list. So if you’d like to follow me on Twitter (where I generally post links to the blog and sometimes complain in vague terms about certain books and every once in a while slip in a photo of my dog), you can find me @booknonsense. And I’m also on Tumblr here; I’ve honestly been neglecting Tumblr lately but I’m trying to get back on track posting photos for book photo challenges.

Do you follow any of these bloggers on Twitter or Tumblr? I’d love to hear your recommendations for who to follow for Twitter chats if you have any! Are you a booklr like me? Hook me up with your Tumblr account! And as always, please feel free to leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish People on Social Media You Should Follow

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

