2016 First Quarter Book Haul

Book Haul (1)Well, I haven’t done one of these in ages. As you may have known, I decided to do away with monthly book haul posts in the new year because I felt that they encouraged a whole lot of book buying. I wrote a post about why these monthly hauls we’re not a good idea for me, as someone who is trying to curb her book spending. Instead, this year, I am going to post book hauls every three months, so I can still show off what books I’ve bought and compare numbers with last year to show everyone that I really do have some shelf-control, I mean self-control.

So how have I been doing so far this year? I’ve purchased only seven books in 2016 and won one preorder in February. Last year by this time I had purchase 19 books. I’m doing so well and right now I’m going to resist the temptation to buy a book in celebration (I’m a work in progress). Titles are linked to my reviews if applicable. Click on any image to enlarge.

bookhaulapril1January 2016-March 2016 Book Haul:

1. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – Hype has a way of zapping my enthusiasm for new releases and as it were, I was not expecting to enjoy Truthwitch. But surprise, it turned out to be really good and so I bought myself a copy.

2. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab – Of course I bought this second book in the Shades of Magic series. Schwab shows once again what a brilliant writer she is and I for one cannot wait for the final book.

3. The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig – Debut novels are tricky things. You really never know what you’re going to get if you decide to preorder one. Thankfully this one turned out to be quite good. I’m always nervous about time travel novels, but this one was awesome.

4. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski – I would give my right hand for this book. This series has been just a crazy emotional experience. I’m currently reading this one and am taking my time because I don’t want to say goodbye and also I’m freakin’ scared of what the author might do. Also, let’s take a moment to thank the publisher for listening to their readers when we found out they were going to change the cover for this final book. I am so happy they didn’t because look at how pretty they all look together…

bookhaulapril1

5. Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers – Remember when I said that preordering debuts can be tricky? This one was a bit of a letdown. Assassin books are something I really enjoy (maybe in my former life…?), but I was expecting a lot more than what I got here.

6. Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin – This book is the best!!!!!!! I was beside myself when I finished my library copy that I quickly hopped on over to Amazon and bought myself this book. I’m ready to reread it at this very moment, I’m so in love.

7. Stars Above by Marissa Meyer – Nothing says Happy Valentine’s Day like a bookish gift to oneself because shouldn’t everyone get a little something even if they may not be romantically involved with anyone? Some of you may say that’s just an excuse to buy myself a book. And you’re absolutely right.

8. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – Did you know this was my first five-star read of 2016? I keep repeating this but I want to make sure the people in the back hear too. I actually won this one through a Twitter giveaway hosted by Reviews from a Bookworm. I probably would have bought it anyway because of how amazing it sounded.

bookhaulapril1

What books have you purchased so far this year? Are you also trying to curb your book spending? Have you had any success (this is a nonjudgmental place)? What is your favorite book purchase so far in 2016? Let me know in the comments!

16 thoughts on “2016 First Quarter Book Haul

  1. Is that…ummm…your…ummm…comforter? Ha ha ha. It’s pretty. *wink*

    Wolf by Wolf is pretty amazing! And, I NEED to get my hands on A Gathering of Shadows. I may just buy it. I purchased 15 books for my son’s birthday party to give out as party favors. I really love the Elephant & Piggie series by Mo Willems. For myself, I was at the library and stumbled across The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, The Kite Runner, Faithful Place, and The Dove Keepers. I purchased them for $2. 😀 Total steal. Oh, and I also picked up the anniversary edition of The Book Thief from Costco. There are a very more but I hope I’ve helped reduced any guilt you may have with my own buying addiction. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heck yeah my comforter is pretty. It took me weeks to find the perfect one because I refused to settle. Remember A Darker Shade of Magic is the first book in that series! Books as party favors? This is the best idea ever. I don’t think I’ve ever read one of those books either. I love my library’s used book store, you can find some great deals in there.

      I saw that Book Thief edition at Costco and was so close to buying it. Funny story, I was there a couple of weeks ago and I was looking at Bone Gap because I don’t own a copy and this girl came over to look at it too and I ended up gushing about it to her and at some point I think I scared her because she then made an awkward and abrupt exit. Huh, maybe it’s not that funny.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, that is soooo funny, Alicia. She’ll be totally looking out for you next time. 😉

        Yes, I will remember to read A Darker Shade of Magic is the first.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. All of these are on my tbr, I just haven’t gotten to them yet. Of them, I expect the first will be A Gathering of Shadows-My copy just arrived in the mail the other day! 🙂

    I am doing better on my book spending – if I do buy I’m making sure I’m have coupons or gift cards, or am getting for a lower price and/or used.

    Anyway, I will have a monster book haul to post in the near future. A friend of mine was looking to cull some of her old books and instead of donating them to a thrift shop, she graciously decided to give them to me! We both love books and have similar tastes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t A Gathering of Shadows a lovely book? I just like to look at the two of them together. I’m also doing the same with book spending. I didn’t mention it, but most of these books I purchased with gift cards. Your friend sounds like a book fairy. Who can resist free books? Can’t wait to see your post!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  4. Well, I’m *trying* to hold myself to the 3-to-1 rule when it comes to buying books and I’ve been moderately successful with it. My favourite 2016 purchase so far is AGOS, but I bought Rebel of the Sands and The Wrath and the Dawn so I have high hopes for them!
    Congratulations on holding yourself back, I think 7 books in 3 months is a success for a bookworm and avid reader. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moderate success should still be celebrated, me thinks. I hope you enjoy both Rebel and Wrath, I really liked both and can’t wait to hear what you think! Thank you, I think seven books in three months is quite good too. I have a feeling that I might end up giving in more as the year goes on >_<

      Like

  5. Wow! Great job sticking with your self-control on this! And you picked some great books. I’ve only read Truthwitch (totally awesome), Stars Above and The Winner’s Kiss (perfect end to the trilogy) but I have all of the others on my TBR. I also had a plan to chill out on the book buying but I have zero self-control so that hasn’t happened yet. Hopefully next month though! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great book haul!
    I loved ‘Rebel of the Sands’ and ‘The Winner’s Kiss’ and enjoyed Truthwitch I have to say that the hype around this book did make me put off reading it for a few months, but I am glad that I did pick it up eventually. I have yet to pick up the Shades of Magic series but all the blogs I follow love the series so far.

    ‘Wolf by Wolf’ and ‘The Girl From Everywhere’ are on my to-buy list they both look really good, however I am trying to reduce the number of book I am buying so my list of new releases to buy is growing longer and longer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I did not expect to enjoy Truthwitch as much as I did because of all that hype. V.E. Schwab’s series is so awesome, if you love fantasy, it’s a must. Love Wolf by Wolf and the Girl from Everywhere is among my favorite debuts this year. I’m trying to buy less too, but I think I add daily to my TBR list.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

