Top Ten Tuesday: Last Ten of My Five-Star Reads

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “10 Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads.” I’ve been really stingy with my five-star ratings this year, giving only two books five-stars so far. I’m not sure if it’s ever taken me so long into the year to rate a book so high and as it were, I have to reach all the way back to last April to find ten books I’ve given five-stars to. Covers are linked to my reviews this time around if you are interested in giving any of these a closer look. It goes without saying (although here I am saying it) that I highly recommend all of these.

 alt=

 alt=

Which books have you given five-stars to this year? Have you had the pleasure of picking any of these up or are any on your TBR list? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Last Ten of My Five-Star Reads

  1. I need to save your post, just so I can look back at it and remind myself to FINALLY pick up some of these books. Books like Tiger Lily and The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows have been on my to-read list for AGES. Every time I see them on your blog, I’m like: YES JOLIEN, YOU NEED TO READ THESE. And I still haven’t. Shame on me. The same goes for Wolf by Wolf and Six of Crows, but as those are more recent I don’t blame myself as much 😀

    Great list Alicia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Several on your list I need to check out that I’ve not heard of! And a few that are on my TBR. I’m being a little stingier with my ratings these days, too. I feel like books are so easily handed 5 stars all the time and they can’t all be OMG SO AMAZING, ya know? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know exactly what you mean. I think blogging has made me harder to impress, maybe it’s because we’re exposed to so many books and I find myself being more cynical when it comes to hyped books…can a book really be as amazing as so people say? Most of the time the answer is no. Wow, aren’t I a ray of sunshine today!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol! No, I completely agree. I see several friends on Goodreads who give 5 stars to every single book and rave about how amazing each one is, but how is that possible?! I can’t believe every book you read is going to blow you away. I just don’t buy it. And then I wonder how many ratings are based on blog tours and trying to impress authors. I want honest reviews so I don’t waste my time reading something mediocre.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been seeing Wolf by Wolf on a lot of this week’s lists, which makes me even more excited to read it than I already was! I’ve been happy to see Six of Crows and The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender on a few lists, as well, as I loved both of those books.

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rebel of the Sands is on so many lists this week! It’s pushing it higher up my TBR haha. Oh I loved Unmade so much, and Rook as well! Wish I loved Tiger Lily more but it was an intereseting book. And I still need to read Six of Crows! Eep.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. TIGERLILY!
    Sorry. I love that book it is on my list this week as well and i -for some strange reason- get unbelievable excited when i see someone else love that book 🙂

    And i am also kind of happy to see someone else not have at least 10 books to pick from for a 5 star rating that they have read in those 3 months of 2016! 😉

    Wonderful list 🙂

    My TTT: http://booksbeautifylife.blogspot.de/2016/03/top-10-tuesday-favorite-5-stars.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • No need to apologize, I totally share your enthusiasm. Tigerlily is one of my favorite retellings of all time! I know what you mean, three months into the new year does not give one enough five-star reads to choose from, I suppose I’m just picky 😉 Thanks!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

