Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books/Series I Loved Before Blogging

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While.” There are times when I feel that I talk about the same books over and over again. This isn’t always a bad thing, because it means these books that I constantly bring up have made quite an impact on me. A lot of these books are the ones I’ve read within the last couple of years, aka while I’ve been blogging, and with this week’s topic, I thought it would be good time to list books I love but read before book blogging. I’d like to reread them sometime in the future, so I can give them proper reviews, but in the meantime, enjoy these pithy reviews instead. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. His Fair Assassin series by Robin LaFever – Female assassins working out of a nunnery. Female friendships. Male characters are in the minority. Slow-burn romance.

2. Fire and Thorns series by Rae Carson – Heroine who struggles with self-image. Heartbreak. Second chances at happiness. Reluctant princess who grows into powerful queen. Hispanic influences.

3. Sevenwaters series by Juliet Marillier – Enchanting world-building. Fairy-tale like storytelling. Swoon-worthy romance.

4. Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness – Stream of Consciousness writing. Flawed characters. Forgiveness. World gone mad. Best literary dog ever written.

5. Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken – Underrated. Better than The Darkest Minds. Magic. Curses. Secrets.

 alt=

6. Shug by Jenny Han – Least known of her books. One of the best MG books I’ve ever read. Coming-of-age. Crushes. Friendship. More depth than many YA or Adult reads.

7. Graceling Realm series by Kristin Cashore – The first Celaena of YA fiction (or one of the first). Fantasy at its best. Interesting characters with extraordinary abilities.

8. Persuasion by Jane Austen – The Jane Austen book I need to talk about more. Captain Wentworth is second only to Mr.Darcy. Love Letters. Slow slow burn romance.

9. Bruiser by Neal Shusterman – Contemporary with a fantastical spin. Selfish characters. Selfless characters. Characters named Tennyson and Brontรซ.

10. Inkworld trilogy by Cornelia Funke – Favorite MG series. A book written for bookworms. The kind of book that makes you wish you were a kid again.

Have you read any of these books? What are some books you loved before blogging that you wish you could reread and review for your blog? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

59 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books/Series I Loved Before Blogging

  1. I’m sitting here like: OH, I should’ve put that on my list too! I love Girl of Fire and Thorns, and Sevenwaters. And His Fair Assassin! I already found it so hard to narrow it down to 10. I haven’t read Persuasion, but I’m interested in picking it up soon. Great list, Alicia! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns, but have only read the first in that series. Really need to get back to it. And I have The Knife of Never Letting Go, but haven’t read it yet — you sold me on literary dog though. I’ve heard good things about Shug before…may have to add that to my wishlist.

    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great selection! I’ve read quite a few of them, and enjoyed them, immensely. See, we do see eye-to-eye. Of the ones that I haven’t read, Persuasion sounds amazing…something about slow, slow burn romance just lights the flame to my current reading desire. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi! Kaja at Of Dragons and Hearts recommended your blog to me, and I’m SO EXCITED to see the Sevenwaters trilogy on your list. It’s been one of my favorites for years, and it makes me happy any time I see a blogger mention it. Have you read any of Juliet Marillier’s other books? Chaos Walking and the Graceling Realm trilogies are another two of my favorite series. Great choices!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, Kaja is such a sweetheart and I absolutely adore her blog. The Sevenwaters series is one of my favorite fantasy series ever. I’ve also read her Wildwood Dancing duolgy, the first two books in her Shadowfell trilogy, Heart’s Blood and Dreamer’s Pool. What about you?

      Chaos Walking is the best, I get emotional just thinking about it and Graceling feels like a classic, can we call it a classic?

      Like

      • Agreed! ๐Ÿ™‚

        I’ve read all of Marillier’s books, I think. Her YA novels are actually my least favorite, although I do love Heart’s Blood and enjoyed the third book in the Shadowfell trilogy. After Sevenwaters, my favorites are The Bridei Chronicles and Blackthorn & Grim.

        Graceling is absolutely a classic! I really hope Kristin Cashore writes more some day.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I have the first Bridei book but haven’t read it yet. I also have yet to pick up her short story collection Prickle Moon. I actually have such a soft spot for Wildwood Dancing as it was my first Juliet Marillier novel. Do you have a favorite Sevenwaters novel? Yes, I’d love to see another fanatasy seriea by Cashore.

          Like

        • The first Bridei book is a bit rough, just to warn you. But trust me, the next two are completely worth it! Oh, I forgot about Prickle Moon; I haven’t read that one, either. Daughter of the Forest is the first one I read, so I have that same soft spot. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I like Son of the Shadows slightly better, though. I LOVE Bran. What about you?

          Liked by 1 person

        • That’s good to know, I will plow forward when I do pick it up. Son of the Shadows and Heir to Sevenwaters are tied for my favorite in the series. I really like Liadan and Clodagh. And Bran, oh Bran. Juliet Marillier really knows how to write her heroes.

          Like

        • Ah, Heir to Sevenwaters, how could I forget? That’s my favorite from the second Sevenwaters trilogy. All this talk about Marillier is really making me want to re-read all her books now!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Yay, glad you enjoyed that one too. I think overall, I liked the first trilogy in the series more, but it’s hard to complain about more Sevenwaters books. Yes, I want to reread all her books right now. I’ve actually been meaning to reread them so I can put some reviews on the blog and share with everyone what a great author Juliet Marillier is.

          Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

