The Friday 56, #104: The Girl from Everywhere

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’re been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“Bee recommended hard work as a cure for any emotional turmoil. I followed her down to the hold, which still smelled of tigers although the cages had been replaced by a handful of boxes scattered haphazardly.”

Heidi Heilig’s The Girl from Everywhere is one of my favorite debut novels of 2016. It’s imaginative and adventurous. I’m never too certain about books that have to do with time-travel, but this one really makes it work. You can read my full review here. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

Goodreads synopsis:

      “Nix has spent her entire life aboard her father’s ship, sailing across the centuries, across the world, across myth and imagination.
      As long as her father has a map for it, he can sail to any time, any place, real or imagined: nineteenth-century China, the land from One Thousand and One Nights, a mythic version of Africa. Along the way they have found crewmates and friends, and even a disarming thief who could come to mean much more to Nix.
      But the end to it all looms closer every day.
      Her father is obsessed with obtaining the one map, 1868 Honolulu, that could take him back to his lost love, Nix’s mother. Even though getting it—and going there—could erase Nix’s very existence.”

25 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #104: The Girl from Everywhere

  1. I think I want sushi. 🙂

    I’m really glad you enjoyed this book. I’m not in the mood for time traveling right now (I just finished Into The Dim), but when I am, this will definitely be on the top of my list.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is the first time I’ve come across this meme, and it seems like SUCH AN AWESOME IDEA! I love reading tiny quotes from somewhere in a book, and this seems pretty much brilliant!

    Thanks for sharing:) I just might join up next week.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

