The Friday 56, #103: P.S. I Still Love You

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’re been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“Genevieve liked me best. We were close, closer than with anyone else. The bracelets were proof. How cheaply I was bought then, with just a bracelet made out of string.”

I’m not much of a contemporary reader, I prefer fantasy novels to be honest, so I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (linked to my review). It’s the story about a girl whose love letters to her former crushes are mailed out without her knowledge and the aftermath of such a disaster. It’s a really cute read and one I highly recommend. I was really looking forward to the follow-up novel P.S. I Still Love You. Overall it was a good book, but I didn’t quite enjoy it as much as the first. You can read my review of this second book here. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

29 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #103: P.S. I Still Love You

  1. I tend to pick up fantasy books over contemporaries as well but made an exception for To All The Boys when my book group read it and surprisingly enjoyed it! Perhaps it’s about time I read the sequel 🙂 happy reading
    Enchanted by YA

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t always have great luck when I venture out to try another genre or debut author. Like you Alicia, I prefer to have my head stuck up in a cloud of magical realism, or regency romance. 🙂 I’m glad this one worked out for you. Do I see more contemporary reads in your future. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      • Lately I’ve been reading Elizabeth Hoyt. I read Maiden Lane #9, liked it, and then decided to start from the beginning with #1. I like her but I’m still waiting to read #4 which a lot of people have said is their favorite. Julie Quinn is another favorite of mine. Who are you favorite historical romance authors?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I too don’t often read contemporary. I almost never select it on my own, it needs to be someone else’s book club pick before I will read that genre. I prefer speculative fiction and historical fiction. If I had to read contemporary, I think I’d rather read a mystery novel. I read your review for this book and I don’t think I’m hooked. But I do know a few people would love it so I will pass the title along.

    Here is my Friday 56: https://vfseattle.wordpress.com/2016/03/11/friday-56-elected-the-elected-series-1/

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

