Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters I’m Supposed to Hate But Don’t

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Characters Everyone Loves But I Just Don’t Get or Ten Characters I LOVE But Others Seem To Dislike.” Last year I did a topic very similar to this week entitled “I’m Just Not That Into You” and listed characters that I really could not get into regardless of how popular they are. This week I’ll be listing characters who are hated by at least a large portion of readers or whose narrative paints them as unlikable, but for whom I do not hold the same kind of disdain. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Bellatrix Lestrange from Harry Potter – There are a ton of reasons why I should really dislike this woman. She’s killed and tortured a large number of people. I’ll never get over Order of the Phoenix, but I just can’t muster enough hate for her. Perhaps it’s Helena Bonham Carter who is responsible for the fact that I don’t completely hate this character.

2. Holden Caulfield from Catcher in the Rye – People are really divided over this novel and even those who like the novel understand that Holden Caulfield can be a real pill. I am one of those people. Holden is not the kind of person I’d want to hang out with, but I don’t hate him as much as some people. To me he’s just a lost kid with a whole lot of sadness inside of him.

3. Daisy Buchanan from The Great Gatsby – Everybody hates Daisy. It’s hard to justify her actions in the novel, but I think we can learn something more from her portrayal. Literary Starbucks, a tumblr account that imagines different authors and characters ordering drinks from Starbucks, summarizes her characterization quite nicely:

“Daisy goes up to the counter and orders the drink society expects and has pressured her into ordering. Everyone hates her for it anyway.”

4. Lydia Bennet from Pride and Prejudice – Mr. Wickham. Mr. Collins. Lady Catherine de Bourgh. There are a number of characters in Pride and Prejudice whom are dislikable and for many, this list includes Lydia Bennet. I’ve never properly disliked her character, even if I disagreed wholeheartedly with a number of her decisions. She always seemed to me to be a very silly, emotionally immature girl living in a society that treats women very unkindly. I can’t really hate her for that.

5. Colin and Piper Greenmantle from Blue Lily, Lily Blue – I’m not even sure Maggie Stiefvater writes “bad” characters in a way that you can truly hate them. Much like the Gray Man in The Dream Thieves, these characters are just so interesting.

 alt=

6. Dumbledore from Harry Potter – Believe it or not, there is a large portion of the HP fandom who hates Dumbledore. They blame him for not telling Harry enough, accuse him of only using Harry as a pawn, and a whole lot of other reasons I’m not going to touch on because I find them to be pretty petty compared to these reasonable objections to his character. Yes, Dumbledore did hold back a ton of information and in a way he did use Harry, but I completely understand his reasons for doing so and it’s hard to hate a guy whose full name is Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore.

7.  Edmund Pevensie from the Chronicles of Narnia – Okay, everyone’s least favorite Pevensie seemed to be Edmund, but he’s actually my favorite. Yes, he kind of betrayed his siblings, but out of all the children, I think he learns the most by the end of the novel and I’m just a big fan of character growth.

8. The Monster from Frankenstein – Yes, so maybe he commits murder, but Mary Shelley does such a phenomenal job of making him a sympathetic character regardless. How does the saying go? “Knowledge is knowing Frankenstein isn’t the monster. Wisdom is knowing Frankenstein is the monster.”

9. Kit from Dear Killer – Pretty sure it’s a bit weird to like a serial killer, but I can’t help myself. Maybe I should talk to someone about this because another killer from another book just came to mind who I ended up really liking too.

10. Davy Prentiss Jr. from Chaos Walking Trilogy – He’s about as terrible as they come and if it wasn’t for the second book in the series, I’m sure I’d hate him, but once we got to know him better and he ended up forming a bond with my favorite character, I started to really sympathize with him.

Which literary characters do you not hate even though many people do? What do you think of the characters I listed? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

39 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters I’m Supposed to Hate But Don’t

  1. I definitely agree with you when it comes to Bellatrix – she’s so horrible, but I can’t look away and you can’t say she doesn’t enjoy what she does. 🙂

    All of Stiefvater’s characters are interesting even if they’re supposed to be bad guys, aren’t they?

    Also great point about Frankenstein and the Creature – the Creature does do some terrible things, but he’s not really the villain of the story.

    Check out my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, that’s so true with Bellatrix, you’ve got to admire her commitment. Stiefvater is a master at writing minor characters, I’m always impressed. I’ve always regarded the monster as the more interesting in Frankenstein and I always feel like I get something different out of it when I pick it up.

      Like

  2. Bellatrix! YES! And wait.. did you say people hate DUMBLEDORE? WHAT? HOW? He’s AMAZING!

    I actually don’t like Lydia Bennet and Daisy Buchanan – well, not that much! I agree society was like that, but ti doesn’t make me like them any more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I liked Dumbledore when I first read the Harry Potter series, and it wasn’t until I got on goodreads that I even realized that people didn’t like him! I agree about Edmund, I didn’t like him at first but i think he redeemed himself. I can’t bring myself to like Daisy though, she’s just so annoying!
    here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tumblr is what introduced me to this “Dumbledore is awful” philosophy. They make good point, but overall I don’t agree with them. Edmund really did redeem himself and I think the experience made him a better person. Haha, completely understand about Daisy.

      Like

  4. Helena Bonham Carter DOES play an epic Bellatrix…. but I still hate the character with a passion, LOL. I’ll never be able to look past the Order of the Phoenix thing. That was my FAVE character. Dumbledore definitely frustrated me (especially in this reread I’m doing), but I could never hate him. I was DESTROYED by what all happened to him, and I still feel sad when I think about it so many years later. Also I totally agree w/ Piper in Blue Lily!! Holy awesome female villain!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know I’ll never recover from that death. The movie was on the other day and I was fighting back tears. I love how rereads can gibe you a different perspective on a story and its characters. Piper is awesome, right? I almost left off her husband for the list because let’s be real, she matters more.

      Like

  5. Hahaha I can’t believe you don’t hate Bellatrix! That’s kind of awesome actually. I have a complicated relationship with Dumbledore, I loved him growing up but I think the internet started ruining him for me. I try to stay away from a lot of HP related stuff online these days because it’s started to color my opinions of my favorite books and it super bums me out. I like Colin and Piper too! I find them fascinating and kind of funny, and I sort of love that Piper is an undercover take charge kind of woman. The Raven King is going to be interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I kind of put Bellatrix in the same camp as Manon Blackbeak: bad but also kind of awesome. I completely agree with you, fandoms have a way of ruining beloved books and characters. I try to stay away from all the opinion pieces on HP because I don’t want it to redefine my experience with the series. Piper is fantastic, every minor character Stiefvater writes has been amazing.

      Like

  6. You’re absolutely spot on, Alicia. There is just something about Helena Bonham Carter isn’t there? I’ve love all the roles she’s starred in, even in Charlie and the Choc Factory. 🙂 “Knowledge is knowing Frankenstein isn’t the monster. Wisdom is knowing Frankenstein is the monster.”<–I'm still wrapping my puny brain around this quote. Come on neurons, fire and form synapsis so I can say something smart….I got nothin'! Frankenstein is so scary, and misunderstood. Depending on what you read/watch, he/it can be either a monster, and a victim. Great list, Alicia!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I get why some fans may not like Dumbledore, but I think, like many parents/ friends/ etc. he thought he was doing what was best at the time. Regardless, he’s an important part of Harry’s life. I also never hated or disliked The Monster in Frankenstein .. great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

