Top Ten Tuesday: Books To Read If You Are in the Mood For Something Dark and Strange

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books To Read If You Are In The Mood For X.” I never realized just how many dark and strange books I read until I started making this list. Turns out, it’s a lot, as I had a really hard time narrowing my picks down to ten. I wouldn’t consider any of these books to be straight horror, but they are dark and have a whole lot of strange going on and if you’re like me, this definitely appeals to you. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

 alt=

Are you a fan of dark and strange novels? Have any recommendations for me? Have you read any of these books? What topic did you choose this week? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

55 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books To Read If You Are in the Mood For Something Dark and Strange

  1. I’m always in the mood for something dark and strange lol. The Night Circus, Miss Peregrine’s, and The Raven Boys are both on my TBR, and I will DEFINITELY read The Night Circus this year because I’ve been talking about wanting to read for, like, ever. I’m happy to hear they’re all dark and strange 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m surprise that The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender isn’t on this list. Perhaps it’s not a dark and strange book? I’m only 1/4 of the way in so it could be romantic and uplifting rather than dark. Of these ten you’ve listed, I’ve only read one – The Raven Boys – and we know how I feel about it, so let’s not open old wounds. 😛 I have been wanting to read The Night Circus so bad. Oh… that cover of The Replacement is disturbing. (o_O)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved The Book of Lost Things. It was definitely strange but so beautiful. The Ocean at the End of the Lane and The Night Circus are next on my TBR…I canʻt wait to finally get to them! I donʻt read a lot of dark books (my imagination is much too active), but one I read recently is The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma. It was definitely strange!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books To Read If You Are in the Mood For Something Dark and Strange – cherylanne57

  5. Deathless and Raven Boys are definitely on my list! Ocean at the End of the Lane was super scary at parts, especially when you’re reading it in the dead of night. *shudders*

    Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve read Poe’s collection and The Night Circus (one of my favorite 2015 reads). Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children has been on my TBR list for a while. I don’t read “strange” too often, but I enjoyed Poe and The Night Circus enough to give the rest of your list a shot! I can use it as a warm up to reading a horror novel for Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge 2016.

    Here is my TTT: https://vfseattle.wordpress.com/2016/03/01/top-ten-tuesday-3/

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

