P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

Title: P.S. I Still Love You
Author: Jenny Han
Series: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, #2
Pages: 337
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Release Date: May 26th 2015

       “Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?
      In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Timesbestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.”

swirl (2)

“Don’t let it happen to you, Lara Jean. Don’t get too serious to where things can’t go back. Be in love with Peter if you want, but be careful with your heart. Things feel like they’ll be forever, but they aren’t. Love can go away, or people can, without even meaning to. Nothing is guaranteed.”

In P.S. I Still Love You, the sequel to Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, Lara Jean learns that life never works out quite the way you’ve planned. When Lara Jean enlisted the help of Peter Kavinksy after the secret love letters she wrote to former crushes are mailed out by her little sister. Lara Jean never imagined that she would fall for Peter, now she must navigate her very first serious relationship. Lara Jean is an idealist and a romantic. Her idea of love in many ways mirrors that of a fairy tale, in which you meet prince charming and happily ever after is a given. But a real life relationship is harder than Lara Jean ever imagines. All of Lara Jean’s insecurities are on full display in this sequel: she has a tendency to compare herself and her relationship to other people. To make matters more complicated, the friendship Peter still has with his ex Genevieve brings out the jealous and often irrational side of Lara Jean. This was probably my least favorite part of all of the storylines as I found Genevieve to be an unsympathetic character. In my opinion, the reasons behind her malicious attitude, when they are finally revealed, do not justify her actions enough for me to feel any differently towards her.

The synopsis for P.S. I Still Love You is a little bit misleading. While the love story in this one does play a prominent role, Lara Jean’s life does not entirely revolve around these two boys. My favorite part of this duology has always been Lara Jean’s relationship with her sisters. While her relationship with her older sister Margot may have taken a hit in the first book, their bond is stronger than ever even with Margot once again living overseas. Lara Jean sees her little sister Kitty growing up before her eyes, she’s full of opinions and keeps her family on their toes with her often lofty ideas. P.S. I Still Love You also deals with subjects like cyber-bulling and the double standard that still rears its ugly head when it comes to the sexual activity of girls versus boys.

Where To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before did a fantastic job of showing just how much chemistry existed between Lara Jean and Peter, I did feel that this sequel didn’t quite capture the rapport I so enjoyed in the first book. P.S. I Still Love You does teach an important lesson that we easily forget when it comes to young adult fiction, that relationships that begin in your childhood or teenage years, whether they be romantic or not, sometimes don’t last.

Rating: 3/5

★★★

11 thoughts on “P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

  1. I can’t believe Kitty mailed out Lara Jean’s letters! How very mischievous of her–I like her already! As you know, I don’t have sisters, so I’m always fond of books that touch on this subject. And from what you’ve shared, P.S. I Still Love You seems do a really good job at capturing that dynamic. But, I seem to hear a sadness in your tone, in the last sentence, that the ending wasn’t a happy one? I’m a romantic, too, I need my happily ever after. 🙂 Great review, Alicia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: February ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  3. Pingback: February ’16: Reading Challenges Recap | A Kernel of Nonsense

  4. Pingback: The Friday 56, #103: P.S. I Still Love You | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

