Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t Fantasy

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Book I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book (or that was out of your comfort zone).” For those unfamiliar with me, fantasy is my go-to genre. I hardly ever go more than a book or two without picking up a fantasy read. I just can’t get enough. While looking back on this past year for this topic, I discovered that while I didn’t read too many books out of my comfort zone, I did discover a couple of new genres that I really enjoyed and read a few books from genres I typically don’t pick up. For this week’s topic, I’ll be highlighting books from two genres I only recently found an interest in (one of them is now a full-blown obsession) and one genre I usually shy away from. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Magical Realism:

Novels described as magical realism are those in which magical elements are found to be rationally acceptable in a real world setting. I can’t rightly say which book first exposed me to this genre, but when I picked up The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, I knew that I had just read a book that would change the way I looked at fiction forever. Here are my favorite magical realism novels that I’ve picked up in the last year:

 alt=  alt=

Westerns:

I typically associate Westerns with my dad. He has this thing for Clint Eastwood’s Outlaw Josey Wales. He swears it’s the best movie ever made. I myself have never really been into watching or reading books that take place in America during the mid 1800s. The whole guns and horses thing just never really appealed to me, but these two books really surprised me and I’m looking forward to reading more like them:

Contemporary:

When I first got into YA novels, contemporary books were almost exclusively what I picked up. These days I rarely find myself reaching for a contemporary novel as I find the intricate workings of a fantasy novel much more appealing to me. Here are a few contemporary novels that I really enjoyed over the past year:

 alt=

What genres have surprised you over the past year? Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

36 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t Fantasy

  1. Now that’s a total shock. Westerns? You never cease to surprise me, Alicia. =) I remembered you’d recommended that I read The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. Somehow, I’d let that fall through the crack. So, I just went online now and checked it out from the library. No more forgetting. =) Any title that has the words strange, beautiful, sorrow and lavender in it, just begs to be read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve only just discovered (as a consequence of blogging) that magical realism is a thing, and I don’t know if I’ve actually read any but I like the idea. I’ve found myself reading YA contemps last year too- there are so many, all different styles and subjects, that there’s something for just about anyone, seems like.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All of your magical realism books look intriguing, I just put Ava Lavender on my TBR. I actually love all of Clint Eastwood’s westerns – the ones he’s starred in; just put Vengeance Road on my TBR, sounds like True Grit though. Great list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

