The Friday 56, #100: Truthwitch

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’re been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“For that brief second when all of his Windwitchery was focused into a single funnel below him–when he shot through the air as easily as a petrel on a wave–he was invisible. A creature of joy and strength and power.”

I was a little nervous picking up Susan Dennard’s Truthwitch. It’s been a while since I’ve seen so much hype over one book (at times it felt like I was being inundated with Truthwitch tweets). I ended up picking this one up from the library because I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. I’m happy to say that I ended up really enjoying this one and I may have just bought myself a copy of the book because of it. You can read my review here if you are interested. Cover is linked to Goodreads. Excerpt taken from page 156.

Goodreads Synopsis:

“In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.
Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.
Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.
Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

26 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #100: Truthwitch

  1. Somehow I had managed to not hear about this book at all but from the blurb and F56 I can see why people would love it! I might have to see if I can find a library that has it, just to try it out 😉 Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great next week!
    My Friday Post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’M DONE with the book! Finally. More importantly, I’ve written my review so I can read your thoughts now. Love this quote, love Merik! The poor guy has the weight of the world on his shoulders, and an awful sister out to sabotage him. More thoughts on your Truthwitch review post…

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

