Top Ten Tuesday: Music for Fans of Magical Realism

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “This week is all about music & books.” I don’t think I’ve ever done a musical themed Top Ten Tuesday post. I had so many different ideas for this post. I was initially going to pair books with theme songs, then I thought it would be fun to pair villains with theme songs. The trouble is I didn’t know where to start with these ideas. Much of the music I listen to these days tends to be whimsical, sometimes strange, and a bit quirky. There’s something quiet and magical about the music I’m drawn to and in many ways it reminds me of magical realism, a genre I’m falling more and more in love with. So for this week I’ll be spotlighting ten bands/artists that I think you’d enjoy if you are a fan of the genre. Just listen to how whimsical these songs are!

1. The Staves – Mexico

“To take a trip to Mexico
I heard it’s the place to go
I want to see the colors of another sky”

2. The Paper Kites – Featherstone

“She went out to the hay in the morning grace
She went out and got lost in a tall hedge maze”

3. Milo Greene – 1957

“A man that resembles me
Watching his young lady sleep
Now I’m off to dream
comforts me”

4. Daughter – Candles

“Well I have brittle bones it seems
I bite my tongue and torch my dreams
Have a little voice to speak with
And a mind of thoughts and secrecy”

5. Phox – Kingfisher

“Weeding a million nightmares
I chanced one dream”

6. Eisley – Marvelous Things

“I followed a rabbit
Through rows of mermaid entwined shrubbery”

7. Of Monsters and Men – King and Lionheart

“Howling ghosts they reappear in mountains that are stacked with fear
But you’re a king and I’m a lionheart”

8. Bowerbirds – In Our Talons

“And the branches bend (deet-deet-deet-deet-deet-deet-deet-deet-deet-deet!)
To the growing sea. (deet-deet-deet-deet-deet-deet-deet-deet-deet-deet!)
And they ask, and they ask it to spread their seeds,
For they know they’re drowning”

9. Bon Iver – The Wolves (Act I and II)

“Solace my game
Solace my game, it stars you
Swing wide your crane
Swing wide your crane and run me through”

10. Local Natives – Wide Eyes

“Oh some evil spirit,
Oh some evil this way comes.
They told me how they fear it,
Now they’re placing it on their tongues”

Are you familiar with any of these bands or songs? Are there are bands you associate with a certain literary genre? What topic did you do this week? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Music for Fans of Magical Realism

  1. Of Monster and Men–Gosh, what an awesome band title! The Alice track you highlighted is something I could listen to over and over. And, that lyric…”you’re a king and I’m a lionheart”…I just love it. I’ve always watched their videos with fascination. It’s so creative and visually stunning. The other artists are definitely whimsical, and I enjoyed it very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, I like The Paper Kites, Daughter, Of Monsters and Men,and Local Natives. The Wolves by Bon Iver sounds great. I associate Carly Rae Jepsen’s album Emotion with the book The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi and Hilary Duff’s Breathe In. Breathe Out. album with Emmy and Oliver by Robin Benway.

    Here is my TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yesss I love magical realism as a genre, so I adore the heck out of this playlist. A lot of my favourites from last year are of this genre, and I’m glad more seems to be published these days. I think you’ve selected great picks, the whimsical, slightly vague lyrics totally fits the bill.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alicia, these are AMAZING! I only knew Of Monsters and Men from this list (I really like them!) and I played all your videos and now I’ll have to research these artists because they sound great. Thanks for putting this list together! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: February ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  6. I haven’t had much experience with magical realism, but this didn’t affect how much I enjoyed this playlist. It was so wonderful and folksly, and I loved it! I’m a sucker for Local Natives and Daughter, but I discovered for the first time Phox. So wonderful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

