Kernels of Nonsense: A Bookish (and not-so bookish) Valentine’s

valentine's (2)Kernel of Nonsense is a bimonthly discussion feature where I talk about various book and blogging related topics. This week’s discussion post falls rather conveniently on Valentine’s Day giving me an opportunity to discuss all things shippy.

Ah, Valentine’s Day. Some people love the holiday and others would love to see it crash and burn. For me I suppose it depends on my mood as I can go one way or the other. Last year I made a list of unconventional Valentine’s Day recommendations. You can take a look here if you are curious. This year I thought I’d embrace the love and share with you a few of my favorite bookish (and not-so bookish) ships.

Shipping is one of those words that really had no meaning for me unto I fell into the world of Tumblr. I don’t know how it happened exactly but I started watching the show Arrow and became obsessed with two of the characters. I wanted, no needed, to see them end up together and when I discovered my obsession with this noncouple was shared by so many others on Tumblr, I was a goner. There was this whole world of people who “shipped” characters together. Terms I had never heard of kept cropping up. OTP. NOTP. BROTP. Canon. Non-canon. Headcanon. Metas. Soon I wasn’t just reading about a fandom, I was part of one.

For those unfamiliar with the term, shipping is the term used to describe when one desires to see two characters together romantically. For example, I ship Elizabeth and Darcy from Pride and Prejudice. OTP means “one true pairing” in which you cannot imagine two characters being with anybody else. While some of my ships have successfully become canon (the writer[s] of the work has finally had mercy on me and has put these characters together), there are also the ones I’m desperately hoping will still develop and still some that have crashed and burned. In this post I’m going to sharing with you some of my ships (bookish and nonbookish) that meet these criteria and since I know not everyone may want to know about where these couples stand because of spoilers, I’ll be including lots of warnings so you can skip ahead. Let’s get started.

1. Oliver Queen and Felicity Smoak from Arrow

WARNING: If you are not up-to-date with Arrow (currently in the fourth season) and would like to remain ignorant of what happens with this ship, scroll past the next paragraph.

Since I mentioned Arrow being the gateway to which I stumbled upon all things fandom, I thought it only appropriate that I start with it. If you’re familiar with the show, you know that the pilot (and maybe the entire first season) set up Oliver Queen to end up with his childhood sweetheart Laurel Lance. I remember watching these two and feeling pretty much nothing for them as a couple, but I sort of just accepted it and moved on. I liked the show apart from their storyline, so stuck with it. Then Felicity Smoak showed up, cute awkward tech girl who always seemed to make me laugh and Oliver smile. Suddenly, I was glued to the television watching these two, hoping for something more. I got my wish and though it may be too early to call these two endgame, I’m plenty confident

2. Bellamy Blake and Clarke Griffin from The 100

WARNING: This next paragraph pertains to the show The 100. Please scroll past the next paragraph if you are not caught up with the third season and don’t want to know more.

I don’t know exactly when I started shipping these two together. For anyone who has seen The 100, you know what a jerk Bellamy was at the beginning of the first season, so I didn’t ship them then. But Bellamy is one of those characters that has such great character development, you kind of find yourself in awe of the transformation. I went from hating the guy to rooting for him, he’s become one of my favorite characters on television. The relationship between Bellamy and Clarke has grown from intense dislike to tentative collaboration to unyielding loyalty. No, they haven’t shared a clear and cut romantic moment on the show, but there is such a great foundation for their relationship to evolve into one, I find myself wishing and hoping (oh my gosh, please let it happen!) for more.

3. Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

WARNING: If you haven’t finished the HP series or movies and don’t want to know what happens, skip the paragraph below.

I’m not sure if there is anyone who doesn’t know these two ultimately end up together, but just in case, I had to include the warning. I’ve read some strange HP pairings in my life. Some people ship Harry and Hermione while others imagine Hermione ending up with Malfoy (what?). I have always, from the very beginning, seen Ron and Hermione together. They balance each other out so well and have both have had a positive impact on each other as people. Can you imagine Hermione bending the rules without Ron or Ron caring about house elves without Hermione? They are my OTP of the HP series and I will forever support them.

4. Chaol Westfall and Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas.

WARNING: If you have not read TOG through Queen of the Shadows, do not read the next paragraph, I beg you do not read it!!!

These two were my OTP from the very beginning of the series. In Throne of Glass, you saw how their relationship altered. Chaol was wary of Celaena, her being an assassin and all, and Celaena found it oh-so-easy to get under his skin. But then something beautiful happened, they began to rely on each other more and in the end, it was Chaol’s encouragement that gave Celaena the strength to get back up. I’m emotional just thinking about it. Then the second book happened and I was so happy until Sarah J. Mass decided to kill me emotionally. I’ve always believed that these two could work out their issues, but Queen of Shadows was a real nail in the coffin and I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to recover.

5. Stiles Stilinski and Lydia Martin from Teen Wolf

WARNING: If you haven’t watch Teen Wolf through the current season, please skip this paragraph.

Tumblr is wholly and completely to blame for me binge-watching Teen Wolf last year. For those skeptical of the show, it’s surprisingly good. I was aware of the large following of those who shipped “Stydia” (the ship name for these characters), but didn’t know much about their relationship until I watched the show. Sometime during season two I began to see the potential for these two. Stiles is by far my favorite character on the show and Lydia has undergone such character development, I can’t help but love her. Then season three happened and that kiss nearly did me in. What I can’t seem to figure out is why the writers have refused to explore this relationship. What gives? Do you get a sick kind of pleasure teasing this fandom? I can’t imagine what it’s been like for those who have watched this show from the beginning and who have been hoping for these two to be a couple, but as someone who has shipped them for the last year, it’s been driving me crazy and I don’t know how to let go.

6. Blue Sargent and Richard Campbell Gansey III from the Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater

WARNING: If you haven’t read The Raven Cycle through Blue Lily, Lily Blue, look away now! Actually, you ought to go visit your local book store or library and pick these up asap.

I shipped these two before they even met. Is it that I believe in kismet or that I enjoy ships that are destined to end in tragedy? I’ve spent the last three books watching their relationship grow. Like Blue, I’ve known from the beginning that Gansey’s fate isn’t pleasant, but I’ve fallen in love with the idea of the two of them anyways. The final book in the Raven Cycle series is being released at the end of April and though I want to imagine a happy ending for these two, it’s not something that Maggie Stiefvater has promised. In fact, she’s made it abundantly clear what’s going to happen next. I want to look away, but I can’t!

Are you a fellow shipper of any of these pairings? Tell me in the comments, so we can fangirl together! Who are some of your bookish (and not-so bookish) OTPs? How do you deal with ships that don’t come to fruition? Share your thoughts in the comments!

12 thoughts on “Kernels of Nonsense: A Bookish (and not-so bookish) Valentine’s

  1. I was only a sporadic watcher of Arrow in the first season, but I agree that I was never into Laurel and I loved the idea of Felicity and Oliver. That makes me happy that they finally coupled up! I’m not a huge fan of The 100, but I watch it (usually as background while I’m reading…), but I ship Bellamy and Clark. I wanted them together since the beginning because I really didn’t like that first guy she hooked up with (I can’t remember his name. I want to say Finn? But that might be another character). I found him super annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you ever decide to revisit Arrow, the second season is amazing. Lots more Felicity and I think this is when the writers really recognized the potential for these two characters. I have “background” shows too. I’m not super invested but I still kind of watch them. Yes, Finn is the name, I never liked him either.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I pretty much ship all of these same couples except for Throne of Glass which I haven’t gotten to yet. I know, I know. So much to read though. The tension between Bellamy and Clarke will be driving me insane forever if I don’t get closure but I still ship Clarke and Lexa together. There’s no such thing as too many ships!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha I love your warnings! I only had to skip the last one because I haven’t even started the Raven Cycle yet and I don’t want to spoil myself for it.
    I haven’t watched the latest season of Arrow yet – I’m not sure I ever will but I like hearing about Oliver and Felicity together! She’s such a wonderful character.
    And yeah, Bellamy and Clarke better get together in this season because it’s high time for it! I like this show despite the fact that the plot is getting ridiculous again but I’ll probably watch it just because of Bellarke (these name mashups are horrible).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was so nervous to write this post because I detest spoilers and I didn’t want anyone to accidentally read a spoiler. I was this close to adding a red blinking warning sign. I love Felicity and I’m so glad that they decided to expand her role in the series. The 100 this season has me kind of scratching my head with their storytelling. Hopefully it improves. I know! I’m trying to recall the first time a name mashup occurred in popular culture…Brangelina perhaps?

      Like

  4. I love this post! I came in not know what the heck shippy is, and can came out with a breadth of knowledge. Well done, Alicia, on writing a post that was easily understood by someone like me who’s apparently been living under a rock. I don’t have a Tumblr acct, and I cancelled cable television. 😀 This was a very fun read.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: February ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

