Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters Who’ve Wormed Their Way Into My Heart

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Valentine’s Day is next week…let’s do a Valentine’s Day themed freebie!” Sometimes you’ll read a book and there will be one character that you just can’t help but grow attached to. This character may show up in the middle of a series or just be a minor character in the beginning who grows into something more. Some of them infuriate you when you first meet them and others you can’t help but feel are highly underrated. For this Valentine’s Day themed TTT, here are ten characters who aren’t necessarily the main character in their respected books, but who hold a special place in my heart. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Ronan Lynch from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Steifvater – I’m already cheating a little here since I do consider Ronan to be one of the main characters in TRC; however, this little punk drives me crazy with his devil-may-care attitude and caustic words. I’m convinced we would get along about as well as him and Blue; still, Ronan Lynch, you little weasel, you’re tough guy exterior can’t hide the fact that you care deeply for those around you, raised a little raven bird for goodness sake; I don’t care if you named it Chainsaw, you’re a softie at heart.

2. Magiano from The Rose Society by Marie Lu – Where the heck did he come from? I’m so glad Magiano showed up in the second book of Marie Lu’s The Young Elites series because he brought a light to an otherwise dreary world.

3. Dustfinger from Inkworld trilogy by Cornelia Funke – I admit, I think I had a little bit of a crush on you while reading this series. Maybe it’s the scars or the fact that you have a little pet marten names Gwin. You just seemed to be carrying a whole lot of heartache on your shoulders and I guess I’m a sucker for that sort of thing.

4. Manchee from the Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness – Have I ever mentioned how much I love dogs? I grew up believing I was more of a cat person, but when I got my dog Jinx, it occurred to me that I’ve been really missing out on having such a great companion at my side. Manchee is probably the best literary pet I’ve ever read about and if my dog had been a boy, I’d probably would have named him after this dog.

5. Widget from The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – I love The Night Circus. There are so many interesting characters in the novel, but for some reason Widget, one of the Murray twins, intrigues me the most. I think it has something to do with his circus tent full of strange bottles that when open emit scents that bring to life different places, times, and sensations.

 alt=

6. Carswell Thorne from the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – Thorne really sneaked up on me. I remember reading about him in the second book of the Lunar Chronicles and though I thought he was a fun character, it wasn’t until the final book when I saw how much he had changed through the course of the series that I found myself really rooting for him.

7. Manon Blackbeak from The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas – Manon Blackbeak is fierce, kind of scary, and all kinds of awesome. Is she a villain or will she become an antihero, it’s hard to say, but her story character arc has been so interesting to read about.

8. Theron from Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – Now I haven’t read the second book in this series, so try to spare me any spoilers. I’m not sure the author intended Theron to be as popular as he is among the fandom because to me it’s pretty clear that she has someone else in mind as a love interest for her main character. Still, the Theron following is strong and I for one am rooting for him.

9. Ron Weasley from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – Yes, I also consider Ron Weasley to be one of the main characters in the HP series, but I think he’s extremely underrated. I feel personally attacked whenever I hear that he was just a third-wheel and that he wasn’t good enough for Hermione. Excuse you, please leave the room because I’m about to take out my earrings.

10. Rosencratz and Guildenstern from Hamlet by Shakespeare – How in the world do these two minor characters end up on a list like this? Tom Stoppard writes a hilarious retelling of Hamlet through the eyes of these two called Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead. If you haven’t had the pleasure of reading this play, I highly recommend it.

What are your opinions on these characters? Are there any minor characters that hold a special place in your heart? What topic did you choose this week for Valentine’s? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters Who’ve Wormed Their Way Into My Heart

  1. I feel like so often side characters end up being my favorites! And sometimes your love for them just kind of sneaks up on you. But why is it that so often they’re the characters who start out as being infuriating? Lol. I’m convinced I’d get along horribly with some of them in real life but can’t help but love them in books. The only book I’ve read on your list is HP, and Lupin is actually my favorite, so I guess that qualifies for this topic 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ronan, Ronan. Alicia, I had no idea you have a thing for bad boys; that is, bad boys with a maternal touch. Ha ha ha. Can one be bad and maternalistic? I have a thing for Adam. He just works so tirelessly to achieve his goal. Oh and Carswell Thorne, he’s quite a funny guy. I’m glad to hear he gets even more interesting in Winter. I haven’t read it yet, but, something to look forward to, definitely.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ron Weasley has always been my one true bookish boyfriend, and I completely agree with you on your feelings when someone insults him in anyway, I feel personally offended and defend him until the very end!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’d say that Ronan is definitely one of the main characters of The Raven Cycle–I’ve only read the first book, but I remember him playing quite a big part in it.

    I liked Manon, too, and I hope she’ll be more of an antihero, although it’ll be interesting to see how things play out if she becomes a villain.

    Here’s my TTT. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Side characters can definitely make a story just that much better! I LOVE Captain Carswell from the Lunar Chronicles, I’ve yet to read Winter but I’m super excited for it! Love your list! One of my favourite side characters would have to be Aedion from QOS, I only really fell in love with him in QOS but oh my gosh I adore him! As well as Manon, I LOVE her chapters so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love how you wrote your list! Ronan certainly wormed his way into my heart as well, as did most of the Raven gang! Their characters take some getting used to. Totally agree about Thorne as well! He wasn’t my favorite in Scarlet, I thought it was a little too silly and Gilderoy Lockhart-ish, but I really fell in love with him in Cress. For me in the Harry Potter series, Ginny is the one I came to love. Her part was so small at first but she was so smart and fierce and I loved her character as the books progressed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. Yes, Blue and the boys really know how to get under your skin, don’t they? Gilderoy Lockhart-ish? Haha. Thorne definitely had a whole lot of arrogance he needed to deal with and I’m so glad we got to see him grow as a character. Ginny is an amazing character, I love her so much and still get upset by how they portrayed her in the movies.

      Like

  7. I absolutely love Ronan, I’ve grown so so attached to him ! I’ve started to refer to him as my son because I want to wrap him up in huge blankets and feed him hot cocoa and tell him that everything will be alright, and I want to annoy him by asking about the cute Parrish boy, and at the same, he can be such an asshole, but I love him anyway, you know ?

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

