Top Ten Tuesday: Futuristic Societies I Want No Part Of

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Historical Settings You Love/ Ten Historical Settings You’d Love To See or Top Futuristic Books You Love/Ten Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read in Books — basically this week is all about the past or the future….spin it however you choose!” So this week’s topic made me a little nervous. As someone who picks up a lot of fantasy, I don’t often stray into historical or “futuristic” reads. While making a list of books I’ve read that take place in the future, it occurred to me that I would not want to be a part of the large majority of these worlds, thus this week’s topic was born. Covers linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Benny Imura series by Jonathan Maberry – I am a big fan of zombies, but let’s be honest, I wouldn’t want to live in a world where the dead come back to life and try to eat me. While I’d like to imagine I’d come out of a disaster like this wielding a katana Michonne-style, it’s very likely I’d be dead in less than a week.

2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – Hmm, live in a world where the people in power force children to kill each other? I’m going to have to say no. I’m even a bit (a lot) wary about this whole Hunger Games theme park. The people making it do realize the book is about children whose only means of survival is to kill one another while the powers that be trivialize it like it’s a form of entertainment…kind of like a theme park.

3. Unwind Dystology by Neal Shusterman – This “future” world really creeps me out. I can’t even properly talk about it. Here’s the Goodreads summary: “The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child ‘unwound,’ whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end.”

4. Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis – This takes the concept of a drought to an extreme. Everyone is desperate for a water source and will do anything to get one. Lynn fights to keep control over the pond her mother and her have been protecting for years. Just thinking about this book makes me a little thirsty.

5. 1984 by George Orwell – So technically 1984 has come and gone, but this book should still be included in “futuristic” fiction. Where do I even start with this one? Big Brother, the Thought Police, brainwashing, Orwell’s dystopian novel is both thought-provoking as well as down-right frightening.

 alt=

6. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld – I wasn’t a big fan of this first book and so I never got around to finishing the series, but the concept of this one is really interesting. Teens undergo operations in order to turn them into “Pretties” and give them perfect problem-free lives. Sounds too good to be true? It is.

7. The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness – Imagine life on this planet has come to an end and the only way to save humanity is to start again on another planet. Imagine this planet has a few interesting effects on the population. Men’s thoughts are no longer silent, every thought they think is heard by everyone. Even though I’m a woman and my own thoughts would be safe, I would not like to be stuck in a world where I could hear everything men think. I could probably be a little snarky here, but I’m going to choose not to 😉

8. The Program by Suzanne Young – This novel is truly frightening. In this world depression is treated like an infection, teens are monitored for signs they may be unhappy and any suspicious behavior results in these kids having their memories wiped out in order to give them a better life free of their unhappiness. The concept for this one literally makes me feel ill.

9. Starters by Lissa Price – I really didn’t enjoy this book when I read it several years ago, but the premise has always stayed with me. Imagine renting your body out to someone else. They get to be you for a period of time and when you return to your body you have no memory of how they used it. Ugh. So creepy.

10. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – I love this book, but I think it goes without saying (yet here I am saying it) that living in a world where people hunt down and burn books would be one of my worst nightmares.

Which literary societies would you not want to be a part of? What topic did you choose this week? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

58 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Futuristic Societies I Want No Part Of

  1. I know what you mean about the Hunger games theme park, anything to make money but yeah what you said. Somewhat ironic perhaps? And The Program- I haven’t read those yet but the idea intrigues me, and I don’t think I’d want to live there either!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just laughed out loud at what you said about the Chaos Walking trilogy… I totally agree that I wouldn’t want to hear all of men’s thoughts. I like your take on this topic, I totally agree that I wouldn’t want to go to any of these, or at least the ones that I have read.
    here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YES – I found someone who feels the same way as I do about The Hunger Games!! I always feel like the odd man out when it comes to this series. I only read the first book, and UGH. I have nothing nice to say about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like your version of the theme this week. And I am so glad that I am not the only one that would prefer to not live in a district of Panem. To live where kids kill kids on national tv, not exactly what I want. And the chances of being drawn for the games. And the conditions they had to live in. Yeaaaa I think I will pass.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve only read The Hunger Games on this top ten list. Base on all the summaries, they are all pretty horrific settings. I’m most intrigued by The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness. Ness is one of my favorite authors. No, you didn’t sound snarky at all, not one bit. 😉 But, I totally would have liked you to be. Humor me Alicia…DO IT! Be fabulously witty.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 1984 and Fahrenheit 451 are the two of the best classics ever, aren’t they? Of course, our modern THG is just as good. 😀 I never read Uglies because the premise had me completely disinterested. Rot and Ruin and Not A Drop to Drink are on my TBR. They sound scary enough. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is such a cool twist on the topic! I definitely agree with you on all of these, even the ones I haven’t read yet. The Hunger Games theme park REALLY BOTHERS ME. It’s like they’ve missed the entire point of the series and it’s kind of a disgusting idea anyway. Ugh. Even a Twilight theme park would make more sense lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Armchair BEA: Surviving Fictional Worlds | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

