January ’16: Reading Challenges Recap

2016

I don’t know about you, but I think January went by way too quickly. I thought I had more time to get to certain books for these challenges, but before I knew it the month was over. As it were, this recap post is kind of sad. Hopefully the number will jump up next month as I have several books in mind. I’ve ordered a couple of debut books and am also planning to finish at least one other series in February, all of which will contribute to the Read My Books Challenge. This month I picked up a total of one book toward by 2016 reading challenges. You read that right. This means my reads were almost exclusively from the library and since I was on a book buying ban this month (today is my last day!), that means I didn’t spend any money on books (yay me!).

debutchallenge

2016 Debut Author Challenge:

2016 Goal: 12 books

Debut Books Read in January: 0

Overall Progress: 0

The 2016 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This is just so sad. I didn’t get a chance to pick up any debut author novels this month because I was on a book-buying ban and my library doesn’t always have new releases available right away. I plan on making up for this next month as there are several debut novels I have my eye on and hopefully I’ll be able to check out a couple of January releases soon.

2016 Finishing the Series Challenge:Finishing the Series

2016 Goal: 7 series

Series Read in January: 1

Overall Progress: 1

The 2016 Finishing the Series Challenge is hosted by Bea’s Book Nook. I managed to finish one series this month! I actually had another book lined up for this challenge, but didn’t get a chance to pick it up. I’ll need to step up my game next month.

Books Read/Series Finished:

The Master Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg/The Paper Magician series.

2016 Read My Books Challenge:2016 Read My Books

2016 Goal: 30 books

Number of My Books Read in January: 1

Overall Progress: 1

The 2016 Read My Books Challenge is hosted by The Worn Bookmark. My only saving grace is that the book I picked up for the Finishing the Series challenge also counts toward this one. I know I have so many books on my shelf that I need to get to, but all those library holds just came in at once. Really, I never have such luck, so don’t expect such a dismal display for next month’s challenges recap.

How did you do with your reading challenges for the month of January? Are you off to a quick start or a slow start like me? Feel free to leave a link to your own challenge recap post and I’ll check it out.

7 thoughts on “January ’16: Reading Challenges Recap

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: January ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

