Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I’m Likely to Preorder

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Freebie Week! Pick a topic near and dear to your heart! Something you wished was on our official list!” I didn’t realize this week’s topic was a freebie until only a couple of days ago. I usually like more time to contemplate ideas, so I ended up settling on the first topic that came to mind this time around: preordering books. I kind of like preordering books. I just really enjoy having a book arrive at my house on the day of its release (so I can get started right away reading it). Although sometimes I can be terrible at this and these books end up sitting on my shelves for far too long (I’m working on this). So here is a list of the top ten books I’ll most likely preorder this year (of course, these are subject to change). Covers linked to Goodreads or titles if no cover is available.

 alt=

1. Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers – Now is a good time to confess to my fascination with assassins in literature. I can’t help it, I’m intrigued by them. This is also a good time to admit that I’ve already preordered this one. Release Date: February 2nd.

2. The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig – Time-travel! Pirate ship! Give it to me now! I’m really excited for this one and everyone who’s read the ARC (or those I’ve come across) loved it. I might have preordered this one already too. Release Date: February 16th.

3. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab – I am ready for this sequel! I just reread the first book at the end of December and am now counting down the days till its release and *cough*Imighthavepreorderedittoo*cough* Release Date: February 23rd.

4. Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto – And now for a few books I haven’t preordered yet…This one has been on my radar for a while. I mean, there’s cannibals, mechanical arms, and a girl out for revenge. Once my book buying ban is over at the end of this month, I’m allowing myself to buy one book and this one will probably be it. Release Date: February 2nd.

 alt=

5. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski – This book. This series. These characters. These emotions. This final book is definitely a book I’m preordering (and let’s rejoice that we’re getting the red-dress cover), I cannot express how excited I am for it. Release Date: March 29th.

6. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – Lock the doors, draw the shades, shut off your phone. I may close myself off from all human contact once I get my hands on this last book in the Raven Cycle series. No joke, I’m going to need time to process it and I will not be spoiled! Release Date: April 26th.

7.  The Rose and the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh – Took me forever to pick up The Wrath and the Dawn, but I loved it and cannot wait for this sequel. It also comes out very near my birthday, so I’m thinking of maybe buying myself a little present. Release Date: May 3rd

8. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – Does a week ever go by that I don’t praise Six of Crows? It’s amazing, go read it if you haven’t! I am so stoked for the final book in the duology, I’ll be preordering this one way before it’s release. Release Date: September 22nd.

9. Like a River Glorious by Rae Carson – How do you write such amazing books? I just love everything this author writes and can’t wait for the second book in her Gold Seer trilogy. Release Date: September 27th.

10. Throne of Glass #5 by Sarah J. Maas – Sarah, you break my heart. I’ll probably never get over the thing. Maybe I enjoy heartache because I know I’ll be preordering this book at some point. Release Date: September 6th.

Do you like preordering books? Which 2016 releases have you/are you planning to preorder? What topic did you choose this week? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I’m Likely to Preorder

  1. I really want to try reading V.E. Schwab and Catherynne M. Valente this year; I’ve heard fantastic things about both Dark Fantasy writers. I’m excited to see someone else loving Rae Carson right now – I think her books are wonderful, but for some reason the reviews on goodreads are a bit mixed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always have a list of preorders! I’ve tried to cut back on brand new books in general, but when it’s a favorite author, I make an exception. 🙂 I do have a bunch on preorder right now, including The Fireman by Joe Hill and Eligible by Curtis Sittenfield.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I honestly rarely pre-order books. I will every once in awhile if I see a really good deal, but for the most part I preorder from the library. Thankfully the library system in my city is awesome and they often have books in the system for a couple to a few months ahead of time, and I check the system so often, I’m usually the first in line. I have A Gathering of Shadows and The Raven King on order right now. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome that you’re library provides you with the opportunity to put books on hold before the come out. I usually have to wait for the release date to put a hold on a book and even then it can take some time. Yay for A Gathering of Shadows and the Raven King!

      Like

  4. YAY! Great choice of topic this week. I always love freebie week as people always do such amazing topics! Great ;picks for preorders, a lot of these are on my preorder list as well – Assassin’s Heart, The Winner’s Kiss and The Girl from Everywhere.

    Here’s my TTT post if you want to check it out. I picked non-book romances I would love to see get book adaptations.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fun topic! I’m a big pre-order book nerd. And even though I’ve not read the “Winner” books, I do have the first two, so I’ll probably preorder or at least but that one! The books looked gorgeous as they were/are, so the recent cover change has me all like, “nooo!”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YES The Girl from Everywhere seems super interesting. I would love to give it a go♥
    Also, I need to start with the series that you mentioned up there.. seriously it is shameful and everyone’s anticipating these books and I’m sitting here like .. I probably should start them NOW!

    Great list♥
    Here’s My TTT if you’d like to check it out 🙂
    Jumana @ Books by Jay

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

