2016 Bookish Goals: Classics I’m Determined to Read

Bookishgoals

While I find reading challenges to be really fun, I also think if you sign up for too many or for ones that are too specific, they can end up being either very stressful or can heavily limit the kind of books you’re able to pick up throughout the year. For 2016, I chose three reading challenges that still give me a whole lot of freedom in choosing what to read, but there are also a few personal reading goals I’d like to meet in 2016. This is my second of three goal posts that will highlight a few books I want to read in 2016 without the pressure of joining a reading challenge for each. If you missed it, in 2016 Bookish Goals: Authors I’m Reading for the First Time, I named a few authors I want to finally read this year. In this post I’ll be listing classic novels I’d like to read in 2016 because for most of these, it’s just unacceptable that I haven’t read them yet. Covers linked to Goodreads.

 alt=1. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

I am in love with the BBC adaptation of this novel. If you haven’t watched it, hop on over to Netflix and prepare yourself to be swept away. But as much as I love this adaptation (I’ve seen it quite a few times), I’ve never read the novel. This year, I really want to get my hands on a copy and finally get to it.

 alt=2. A Novel by Virginia Woolf

Can you believe that I’ve never read a novel by Virginia Woolf? I regret to admit that most of the classics that I have read were written by male authors. This is a shame because I know there are so many females classic authors I’ve missed out on. Now I’m a little undecided about which of Virginia Woolf’s novels I should pick up this year. I have it narrowed down to To The Lighthouse and Mrs. Dalloway. If you’ve read one of these or both, I’d love to hear which one you’d recommend in the comments.

 alt=3. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

I had an opportunity to read this one way back in high school, but ended up reading Kate Chopin’s The Awakening instead. I kind of a little bit regret it because I have a feeling I would have enjoyed this one more. I was ready to read this one last year, but books just kept piling up and I never got the chance.

 alt=4. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

This is a book I’m going to have really strong opinions about because despite not reading it, I am aware of what it’s about and (insert here strong feelings). It is not the kind of novel that I’d typically pick up, but the fact that there are such polarizing views on its merit makes me extremely curious.

Are classics something you’d like to read more of this year? Are there any classics you’re hoping to pick up? Have you read any of these? I’d love to hear your opinion! Let me know in the comments.

33 thoughts on “2016 Bookish Goals: Classics I’m Determined to Read

  1. I’ve read all of these except the Virginia Woolf one and really liked them all! I still need to see the BBC version of North and South! And I’m hoping to get to a Virginia Woolf novel this year too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love North and South, both the book and the adaptation! I hope you get to read it and that you enjoy it! I haven’t read anything by Virginia Woolf either but she is definitely on my list and, like you, I’ve narrowed it down to To the Lighthouse and Mrs Dalloway.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I really need to both watch and read North and South. I haven’t gotten around to doing either despite owning both the book and dvd.

    Virginia Woolf takes some getting used to (at least for me) since her writing is mostly stream of conscious. I read Mrs. Dalloway when I was about 20 and kept nodding off during it. However, out of the books I’ve read by her it was the most palatable. I think my favorite thing I’ve read of hers was “A Room of One’s Own” but it’s not one of her fiction titles.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, I have a classics challenge lined up for this year, I really hope I’ll complete it. I have North and South on my list as well, and Mrs Dalloway already bought and waiting to be picked up. I haven’t read any Woolf novels, either. I think it’s time to change that!
    Other than that, I really want to read Jane Eyre and The Catcher in the Rye, I’ve had an eye on those two forever.
    Good luck with these!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been meaning to pick up North and South for years. Glad to know I’m not the only one who hasn’t read Virginia Woolf, but I am surprised there are so many of us. I really want to reread Jane Eyre as I read it and hated it in high school, but want to give it another chance. I love Catcher in the Rye, Holden Caulfield’s voice really resonated with me in high school.

      Like

  5. Pingback: 2016 Bookish Goals: Book I’d Love to Reread | A Kernel of Nonsense

  6. I’ve watched and read North and South and loved them! The mini-series is what got me to read the book and I wasn’t disappointed. Good luck in reading the others.
    I try to read at least 10 classics a year, last year was close. I’m hoping this year I’ll reach that 10.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: January ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

