Winter 2016 Mini Bloggiesta Sign-Up Post

Bloggiesta-MiniJ16I had such a great time participating in last year’s Fall Bloggiesta back in September (my first time participating). I got so much done around my blog thanks to this challenge that I’ve been eager for the next Bloggiesta event. For those not familiar with Bloggiesta, here’s a little explanation: “In short, Bloggiesta is a blogging marathon revolving around ticking off those items on your to-do list and improving your blog while in the good company of other awesome bloggers doing the same thing.” To sign-up for the mini challenge which takes place January 16-17, click on the image to the left. I’ll be updating this post during the challenge in order to track my progress as well as tweeting updates. You can find me @booknonsense on Twitter.

Mini Bloggiesta To-Do List

1. Replace Graphics

I’ve recently changed several of my posts’ graphics and haven’t had the time to go back and replace the old with the new. I’ve got quite a few posts to go through to accomplish this, but I’m confident I’ll be able to get through all of them.

  • Replace Discussion Post Graphics
  • Replace Book Haul Graphics
  • Replace Monthly Book Haul Graphics

UPDATE JANUARY 16th: This didn’t take as long as I thought it would, which I’m very grateful for. It also turns out that I had already replace all the graphics for my discussion posts, so that helped a little.

2. Redo Blog Button

Back in October, my blog underwent a Halloween-themed makeover and when it came time to change my blog back, I decided that I wanted to change the look of my blog a bit. I ended up changing my header along with a few other things as well. My blog button also changed, but I’m not sure I’m entirely satisfied with it, so I’ll be redoing it during this challenge.

UPDATE JANUARY 17th: Finished my button. I’m going back and forth about whether or not I like it more than the last one, but I don’t want to obsess too much.

3. Complete Blog Posts for the Week

I’ve recently been working on all my blog posts for the week on Sunday. I’m really liking this blogging schedule as it gives me a lot more freedom with my time during the week. Here are the posts I’ll be working on:

  • Top Ten Tuesday: Recent Books Added to the TBR
  • The Friday 56 blog meme
  • 2016 Bookish Goals: Classics I’m Determined to Read
  • Kernels of Nonsense Discussion Post
  • Book review if I complete my current read

UPDATE JANUARY 16th: Completed almost all of my post for the next week. I’ll be saving my discussion post for tomorrow because it’s going to need more attention than I can give it today.

UPDATE JANUARY 17th: Yay, I’ve completed my discussion post!

4. Visit Other Bloggiesta Participants’ Posts

UPDATE JANUARY 17th: I love taking a look at what everyone else is up, it gives me a lot of great ideas for the next Bloggiesta!

5. Take Part in the Bloggiesta Twitter Chat

UPDATE JANUARY 17th: So lovely talking to all of you!

6. Complete One Mini-Challenge

UPDATE JANUARY 17th: Blogging organization has been something I really wanted to be better at this year. I just purchases a planner to help do this and Book Bumbling’s Stay Organized as Hell with Blogging Checklists has given me some food-for-thought when it comes to utilizing my planner. Here’s a look at what this week’s plans look like using checklists:

miniblog

Have you ever participated in Bloggiesta? Interested in joining us, there’s still time! Leave me a link to your own Bloggiesta sign-up post, so I can see what you’re up to!

17 thoughts on “Winter 2016 Mini Bloggiesta Sign-Up Post

  1. Hi Alicia, I remember this from last year! It was a rather impressive list then, and is an impressive to-do list now. It’s too late for me to join. But, you have fun and let us know how it went.

    ~Lonna @ FLYLēF

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I’m always thinking about what I can change, but I’m pretty satisfied with my layout right now. Of course, I know myself pretty well, so I expect I’ll want to change things up again in the future. Thanks for the offer, Claudia. I might take you up on that some day 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: January ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

