2016 Bookish Goals: Authors I’m Reading for the First Time

Bookishgoals

2016 is upon us! By now most people have signed up for yearly challenges and made a Goodreads reading goal. I have done both (70 books for Goodreads and three different reading challenges). While contemplating how my reading year was going to pan out, I realized that there are still some goals I want to meet this year, even if I didn’t join a challenge for them. So throughout January I’ll be posting some 2016 bookish goals I want to accomplish. These are low-pressure goals I’m hoping to meet, but won’t be of the tearing-my-hair-out-trying-to-accomplish variety if you know what I mean. For this first post, I wanted to highlight a few authors that I’ve heard wonderful things about, whose books I haven’t been able to pick up, but would like to this year.

 alt=1. Catherynne M. Valente

Now I’m only kind of cheating with this one since I just finished a book by her. But up until now, I hadn’t picked up a Catherynne M. Valente book, despite having The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making on my TBR for years. I ended up reading Deathless by her, but I have my eye on her more recent novel Radiance.

 alt=2. Brandon Sanderson

This is another author I hear bloggers just rave and rave about. So why haven’t I picked up a book by him yet? I have no idea! Fantasy is by far my favorite genre, so it’s a real shame that I haven’t pick up a book by Brandon Sanderson. I do have Mistborn on my shelf, which I fully intend to get to it this year.

 alt=3. Angela Carter

The elusive Angela Carter. I’ve been wanting to read something of hers for so long, but for some unknown reason my library (and those in my county) don’t carry a wide variety of her works. I wanted to read Angela Carter’s Book of Fairy Tales, but I haven’t been able to find it, but it looks like I’ll be getting a short story collection by her from the library. Finally!

 alt=4. Scott Lynch

I hear so many wonderful things about The Lies of Locke Lamora, another great fantasy series. There are several bloggers who I know who just love this series. I really want to finally give this one a try this year.

 alt=5. Roald Dahl

Now this one might not be true, I vaguely remember books from my childhood, so I might have very well read a book by the famous Roald Dahl. What I do know for sure, is I can’t recall doing so and I know I’ve never read Matilda. I loved the movie when I was a little girl, but I never read the book. This year I’m going to read it. I have a feeling I’m going to adore it and I’ll probably be gifting it to my niece in the future.

Are there any authors you keep hearing about that you want to try in 2016? Have you read any of these authors? Let me know in the comments!

28 thoughts on “2016 Bookish Goals: Authors I’m Reading for the First Time

  1. Omg, you’re actually reading one of my favorite fantasy series ever aka The Lies of Locke Lamora. Can’t wait to see what you think of it! And you can literally never go wrong with Sanderson :3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to read Catherynne M. Valente as well, but maybe not this year. Anyway, it’s fantastic that you’re going to read Roald Dahl! I love him to this day. The movie Matilda is great, but the book is even better. It was one of my favorites. (Still is.) I also loved The BFG (the movie’s coming out this year!!), James and the Giant Peach (also a great movie), Danny the Champion of the World, and of course Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (two fantastic movies came out of that one). Hope you enjoy Matilda as much as I do!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read Mistborn by Sanderson and though it’s pretty good, I haven’t finished the series yet. I might someday.
    But I can’t recommend Lynch and Dahl enough, they’re both wonderful! 🙂 Dahl was my favourite childhood author (along with Astrid Lindgren) and Lynch is a favourite of my adult reads.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really like Roald Dahl as well, but I’ve never read Matilda or seen the movie either. My favorite of his was always The BFG– I must have read that book a million time! I’ll have to add Matilda to my TBR list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. No way! I just purchased my copy of Mistborn this weekend! I too have heard and read so many glowing reviews on this series. I don’t know if you remember Heather, from our Gregor the Overlander read-along, but we are thinking about doing a buddy read on this book in June. Maybe you could join us? No pressure 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Brandon Sanderson!!! YES!!! I LOVE Steelheart and the first Mistborn book. (I still need to read the others, though hopefully I will read some this year.)
    I haven’t read any of the other others yet either, but I do own a couple of the books you have pictured.
    I hope you enjoy reading these authors this year!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love Angela Carter’s “The Bloody Chamber” her fairytale retellings are dark and so wonderful!

    I’m also aiming to read some Brandon Sanderson this year. I have a couple of his books on my TBR pile.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I keep hearing great things about The Lies of Locke Lamora too. My son keeps pushing me to read it, so I will be reading it this year too. I hope you meet your reading goals in 2016. You have a really promising lineup here.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: 2016 Bookish Goals: Classics I’m Determined to Read | A Kernel of Nonsense

  10. Pingback: 2016 Bookish Goals: Book I’d Love to Reread | A Kernel of Nonsense

  11. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: January ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

