Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Bookish Resolutions

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is ” Top Ten Resolutions We Have For 2015 (can be bookish, personal resolutions, “I resolve to finally read these 10 books, series I resolve to finish in 2015, etc.).” I’ve been thinking about this list for a while now. I was actually tempted to look at last year’s resolution list before making this one, but as I don’t want to feel unaccomplished if I didn’t get something done, I’m just going to leave that one in the past. So let’s just take this opportunity to look forward… 

1. Stop Neglecting Bloglovin’ 

I’ve got a huge confession, I’m terrible when it comes to checking blogs I’m following on bloglovin. I can go a month without even visiting my feed. It’s awful, I know. I honestly find it easier to keep up with fellow WordPress bloggers and those I follow on Twitter. This year I’m going to make an effort to do better.

2. Goodbye Monthly Book Hauls 

I’ve been thinking about this a lot and as much as I love sharing what books I purchase each month, I also want to stop buying so many books. So this year I won’t be posting a monthly book haul each month. I have a discussion post about this decision which I will be posting later this month.

3. Three Reading Challenges 

Last year I only took part in one reading challenge aside from the Goodreads Challenge. This year I’ve signed up for three reading challenges: Finishing the Series Challenge, Read My Books Challenge, and the Debut Author Challenge. My goal is keep up with all three of them, you can read about these challenges here.

planner

4. Blogging Planner 

I bought myself a planner this year to keep track of everything blogging and bookish in my life. I like being organize and having a place to work out what I want to post and when, so I’m hoping to maintain this throughout the year.

5. DNF Books 

Speaking of being organized, I don’t keep track of the books I DNF. This hasn’t been a huge problem for me, but every once in while it slips my mind why I didn’t finish a book. This year I’ll be keeping a notebook with books I DNF and record my reasons behind the decision.

6. Favorite Quotes 

Another thing I haven’t been doing lately is keeping track of favorite quotes I read in books. Never is this more obvious than when we get one of those Top Ten Tuesday prompts asking us to list our favorite quotes. I immediately draw a blank. This year I’m going to make an effort to write down quotes/passages in books that stand out to me. I’ve already started, this is an excerpt from Catherynne M. Valente’s Deathless:

“The forest deepened, the birches filling with crows, the underbrush with red, pointed hedgehog eyes. Overhead, violet seeped out of the sky and black crept up until only the sharp, cutting stars sliced through the night.”

7.  Blogging in Advance

I found myself doing a whole lot of blogging in advance during the month of December. I had so many posts to put together as the year came to a close, and I’m so glad I decided to work on most of them in advance. My routine lately has been working on blog posts on Sundays for the week, that way I’m not rushing to put them together when it comes time to post something. (If you’re curious, I’m putting this one together on a Sunday)

8. New-to-Me Authors

There are so many great authors out there that I have yet to read. This year I want to make an effort to seek out novels by these authors that have been on my TBR for years. I actually started this year with a book by an author I hadn’t read before, hopefully she won’t be the last one I’m trying out in 2016.

9. Classics

How I’ve neglected the classics! Although I didn’t join a reading challenge for classics, I really want to get to a few this year. I haven’t quite decided which ones I’ll be picking up, but expect a future blog post highlighting a few I want to get to this year.

10. Take the Pressure Off Myself 

As much as I love blogging, it’s really easy to put too much pressure on yourself. Sometimes I find myself stressing to get a post done or a review, and blogging becomes a burden. I do not want this, I want to enjoy myself when it comes to blogging, so in 2016 I’m letting myself off the hook if I don’t have the time/don’t feel like writing a post or review. Ah, I feel lighter already.

What kind of blogging/bookish resolutions have you made for this new year? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Bookish Resolutions

  1. I can definitely relate with your last resolution. Lately when I’ve been scheduling posts for the upcoming months I’ve decided that I’m going to reduce the number of times I post to three times a week so I’m not so stressed out about having to post every single day. Hopefully it takes the pressure off a bit. Anyways, best of luck with your resolutions! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh…. Bloglovin’…. I feel you. I literally never look at it. I think the last time I looked at it was at the beginning of last year. WordPress is so much easier!

    Blogging in advance is something else I really want to do. Thus far I haven’t been able to focus to put a whole lot of them down, but at the times when I have I found the whole blogging situation so much more enjoyable and relaxing! I know I am going to be super busy for the next 6 months with finishing my course so I should try and bulk some posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I only use Bloglovin for staying current on other blogs and I love it!

    I need to get better about blogging in advance. Some weeks I’m on top of it, like this week I have several scheduled ahead. Then I’ll get really lazy and frantically pull a post together the same day.

    I’d love to keep better track of favorite quotes. I should utilize my Kindle highlighter more because it’s convenient, I just never use it. Maybe this’ll be the year I think about it more.

    Great goals!! Good luck with them. Taking the pressure off of myself about blogging is one of the best things I ever did. It’s so much more fun when there’s no pressure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It would be so much easier to stick with one feed to follow all the blogs, but I can’t say goodbye to WordPress’s. Yes, less pressure equals more happiness in my opinion. I’m really good at becoming stressed when it comes to getting posts up and I hate feeling that blogging is just a chore I need to complete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Planners! I love my planner, I hope you enjoy keeping one this year.

    You have a ton of great goals. I’m really hoping to keep steady with blogging ahead this year as well. Reading more new-to-me authors and the classics sounds like an excellent idea too. I have quite a few classics on my TBR shelf that I haven’t gotten around to reading yet.

    Good luck with all your goals.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh gosh I neglect Bloglovin’ so much! I can’t remember the last time I looked through my feed there! I took part in the Blog Ahead Challenge this year which really helped me get in the habit of scheduling posts, it definitely helps keep blogging fun and more relaxed.
    Good luck with your resolutions and happy New Year! 🙂
    My Ten Goals for 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I did away with book hauls too. I look forward to your post on the subject. I have been reading a lot more classics myself, I have discovered so many memorable read! All of your goals are fantastic and I wish you all the luck in the world succeeding in them, especially when it comes to taking the pressure off.
    -Smart Dames Clever Books

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great ideas! I’ve also got some challenges for myself this year – unlike last year where I only did the Goodreads one and had begun to wish that I’d chosen a couple more. I totally need to buy myself a planner for my blog. Right now I’m just working off legal pads. When I DNF books anymore, I just drop a few lines onto a Goodreads review as to how far I made it and why I quit reading it. That way I figured I’d never forget I already tried to read the book or why I stopped. Lots of luck on your resolutions!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. These are great resolutions. I have a notebook where I write down quotes I like. The way I do it is to take a picture on my phone of the quote while I’m reading so it doesn’t interrupt my reading too much. Then, about once a week, I upload the photos to my computer and copy the quotes into my notebook. It has worked well for me.
    I love your idea to keep track of why you DNF books. I might have to try this though I don’t typically DNF at all.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

  9. No more monthly book hauls?? 😦 Some bloggers do weekly, and I could never manage that, I just include any purchases or new books in my monthly wrap up, but don’t do it as it’s own post, so if there’s nothing to show for a month, there’s still a wrap up post.

    I should really look at planning blogging a little better too, I love when I have posts scheduled ahead of time, but I’ll get like 2 weeks done and then slack off, and the two weeks catch up on me… which is what’s happening right now! Lol I think having a planner would help so I can record quotes and thoughts too though. I really need to do that while I’m reading, because I never remember quotes. R xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, it’s a tad bittersweet, but I think it’s necessary if I’m going to make a real effort to cut back on book buying. Weekly hauls sound almost crazy, but to each their own. I like that idea of including it in your wrap-up post. I think I’m going to do quarterly hauls. I’ve been doing my blogging a week in advance which is nice, but also doesn’t allow me to slack off for too long, haha.

      Like

  10. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: January ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

