2015 Re-Read Challenge Recap

The 2015 Re-Read Challenge

The Re-Read Challenge was hosted by Belle of the Literati and So Obsessed With. I really wanted to reread more books this year, so I decided to join this challenge as motivation. My goal was to reread twelve books, since I figured rereading a book a month wouldn’t be too hard. I was kind of wrong. I started out so well, rereading a couple of books for the first couple of months, but then tapering off to one, and then eventually not picking up any rereads. So I didn’t quite make it to twelve book, but I did make it to ten (or at least I will, I haven’t quite finished A Darker Shade of Magic). I actually feel pretty happy about this number considering how many months I went without rereading anything. Here’s a look at the books I reread for this challenge. Covers linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

 alt=

It’s hard to decide which one of these rereads was my favorite, because these books are all among my favorite books ever. Some of these I picked up because the sequels were coming out (Seraphina, The Winner’s Curse, A Darker Shade of Magic) and others I picked up because it had been way too long since I read them (Goblet of Fire, To Kill a Mockingbird). Rereading to me has always been one of those things only bookworms truly understand (have you ever tried explaining why you are rereading a book to a nonreader?). You’re picking up a book again because it never ceases to keep speaking to you in some way. It’s familiar, but you always get something different out of it each time you pick it up. The characters are like old friends you’ve been missing and rereading these books feels like coming home. While I won’t be joining the re-read challenge again this next year, rereading is something I will still continue to do.

Did you take part in this years Re-Read Challenge? Is rereading something you enjoy? What was your favorite reread this year? Share your thoughts in the comments!

8 thoughts on “2015 Re-Read Challenge Recap

  1. I love re-reading books but this year it’s not something I did much of because I was caught up in new releases and review copies etc. During Christmas though I re-read the first Harry Potter book which reminded me why I enjoy going to back old favourites – especially Harry Potter! So I might do an informal re-read challenge for myself next year 🙂 lovely post
    Enchanted by YA: http://enchantedbyya.blogspot.co.uk/2015/12/arc-review-thief-of-lies-library.html

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: December ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

