2016 Reading Challenges

It’s that time of year where bloggers are busy trying to decide which challenges to join for the year. Last year I only took part in two challenges: the Goodreads Challenge and the Re-Read Challenge. The former I successfully accomplished, but I came up a little short in the latter challenge. For next year, I wanted to join at least a couple of reading challenges and after some thorough investigation, I’ve decided to take part in three reading challenges apart from the Goodreads challenge.

That Artsy Reader GirlThat Artsy Reader Girl is hosting the 2016 Debut Author Challenge. I’m joining this reading challenge because I think it’s a great way to stay up-to-date with new authors, after all, who doesn’t like discovering new books to fangirl over? For this challenge we’re supposed to read at least twelve debut authors from January to December. I figure I can definitely accomplish this by the end of the year. There are so many debut novels coming out in 2016, there’ll be no shortage of options. If you would like to sign-up for this challenge, click on the image to the right which will direct you to the sign-up post.

Finishing the SeriesThe second challenge I’ll be taking part in this year is the 2016 Finishing the Series challenge hosted by Bea’s Book Nook. Lonna @ FLYLēF and I are trying to motivate one another for this challenge. We both have a lot of series that we need to finish, so this is a perfect opportunity to do so. I have several series enders that have been on my shelves for far too long and I’d really like to get to them this year. Click on the image to the left to sign-up for this challenge.

There are four levels for this challenge and I’ll be shooting for Level 4 (Expert series reader), completing seven or more series. I’m pretty confident I’ll be able to accomplish this in 2016. Here is my tentative list of series I’ll be finishing for this challenge:

1. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo (2 books yet to read)

2. Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo (1 book, to be released in September 2016)

3. The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron (1 book yet to read)

4. Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier (1 book yet to read)

5. The Ascendance Trilogy by Jennifer A. Nielsen (1 book yet to read)

6. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han (1 book yet to read)

7. The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg (1 book yet to read)

8. Starbound by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner (1 book yet to read)

9. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey (1 book, to be released in May 2016)

10. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater (1 book, to be released in April 2016)

11. The Winner’s Trilogy by  Marie Rutkoski (1 book, to be released in March 2016)

As you can see, I named a little more than seven series (and also a couple of duologies, do they count?). If I’m being honest, I know I probably won’t get to all of these, but as long as I manage to finish seven series, I’ll be happy.

2016 Read My Books

I’ve also decided to join Maren @ The Worn Bookmarks’s 2016 Read My Books Challenge. This challenge encourages readers to read from their own shelves this year. I confess, sometimes I buy books and I won’t even look at them for months (or years). There are several books I bought in 2015 that I have yet to get to, so hopefully this challenge will keep me motivated. After browsing my shelves, I’ve discovered I have around 75 unread books (including a few on my tablet). Not as bad as I suspected, but I know I’ll be adding to this number next year. For this challenge, my reading goal will be to read 30 of these books. I’m sure I’ll surpass this number, but I like knowing I’ll still have unread books on my shelf by the time I’m done with this challenge. To sign-up for the 2016 Read My Books Challenge, click on the image above.

Are you taking part in any of these challenges? What 2016 reading challenges have you signed up for? Let me know in the comments!

28 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenges

  1. Im thinking about doing the Read My Own Books challenge! I have SO MANY books on my shelves I haven’t read yet! I just love buying new ones. But I think that will be a good one for me to do to cleanse my shelves!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ooh, great challenges there! I think I’m going to do the Read My Books Challenge to try to tame my TBR and physical bookshelves. I might do the Finishing the Series one too! It’s such a rewarding feeling to finish a whole book series.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The series challenge and the “read my books” one sound really good – I basically challenged myself to do those things in my resolutions. I’m terrible at finishing series and I keep buying books even though I already own lots of unread ones… So yeah, I’m hoping 2016 is the year to change that! 🙂
    I’m doing three this year – the fairytale retelling, the discussion, and the classics challenge. They seem okay and not too complicated!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: December ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  5. Pingback: January 2016 TBR | A Kernel of Nonsense

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Bookish Resolutions | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

