The Christmas Tag

The Christmas Tag (1)Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek has great timing! I’ve been looking for a Christmas-themed tag for this time of year and lo and behold she does this one and is kind enough to tag me. Thank you so very much! This December really flew by, I can’t believe there’s only six days until Christmas!

What’s your favourite Christmas movie?

The Nightmare Before Christmas! This movie is so versitile. I can watch it anytime October through December and it’s perfect! The music makes my heart swell every time.

Do you open presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?

My brothers and I have never be allowed to open Christmas presents on Christmas Eve. This does not mean we never begged (we did!), but alas, our mother never allowed it.

Do you have a favourite Christmas memory?

I was in Korea for about a year and I was able to come home for Christmas in between this time, which was so wonderful. I really missed my family and the fact that I could find a trash can on every corner. I could never find one in public in Korea (but I never came across any litter while there, very mysterious!).

Favourite Christmas food?

Homemade tamales! My mother has the whole family slaving away the day after Thanksgiving and we end up making so many tamales, I’m surprised we still have an appetite for them afterwards. It takes a day to make them by hand and a couple of days to cook them all. Then my mother cruelly packs them away and we have to wait for Christmas to eat them.

IMG_0542Favourite Christmas gift?

Have I mentioned what a terrible memory I have? I’m trying to recall an awesome gift from my childhood and I’m drawing a blank. Would it be cheating if I said books? I’m really in love with the Bloomsbury Harry Potter box set that I got for Christmas last year.

Favourite Christmas scent?

Nothing beats the scent of a Christmas tree.

Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions?

Going to bed early, haha. What can I say, I enjoy my sleep and now that there are so many young kids in my family, I know they hate waiting for us adults to wake up, so they can show up and open all their presents.

What tops your tree?

A twinkling star. I don’t think my family has ever had an ornament or a special angel we’ve pass down through generations, so your basic star is what goes on top.

As a kid what was the one (crazy, wild, extravagant) gift you always asked for and never received?

I always wanted an Easy-Bake Oven. It’s not crazy or extravagant (I wasn’t the kind of kid who would wish for the moon), but it was something I really really wanted, but never got. I still bring this up to my parents to remind them how they crushed a young girl’s dream.

What’s the best part about Christmas for you?

I get this weird delight out of wrapping gifts. I don’t know what it is, but I love wrapping gifts. I like to get all my Christmas shopping done, pick the perfect wrapping paper, and spend an afternoon wrapping everything before putting it under the tree.

I tag anyone who would like to do this one before Christmas. Hurry, though, there are only six days left!

11 thoughts on “The Christmas Tag

  1. Very cool tag – I expect I’ll be doing this one soon!

    I’ll watch The Nightmare Before Christmas anytime, but it’s best from October to December.

    I don’t think I have ever had homemade tamales before – not counting at restaurants.

    I had an easy bake oven – I liked making those little cookie-cakes! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a fun tag! I love hearing other people’s holiday traditions. How cruel to pack the tamales away haha! I love wrapping presents too. My family and I used to go to the movies every year on Christmas (we’re Jewish but my cousins celebrate Christmas) and always watched A Christmas Story at least once. I love watching Christmas movies and listening to Christmas music 🙂 Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

