Monthly Wrap-Up: November ’15

MonthlyWrap-UPI cannot believe that it is already December. Where did this year go? November was probably the slowest month in terms of reading and blogging that I’ve had in a while. I had a small case of a blogging/reading slump earlier in the month which really affected the number of books I read. And, of course, Thanksgiving week was extremely busy. It took me the entire week to get through a single book, which is not like me at all. I only read five books this month which is really shocking and means that reading slump earlier in the month was a lot worse than I initially thought. Hopefully, December will be better. On a brighter note, the Transatlantic Book Project is official underway, scroll down to learn more. If you do your own monthly wrap-up post, be sure to add your link to Book Date’s Month in Review linky here.

(Book covers below are linked to my reviews.)

My Favorite Book This Month:


I have been holding on to this book for a year. I absolutely adore Sarah Rees Brennan’s The Lynburn Legacy series and just couldn’t say goodbye, so I put off reading the conclusion. I finally picked it up and it was great, I was in tears, yes, but it was great.

My Least Favorite Book:

I only read five books this month and all of them received positive ratings from me, so no least favorite for this month.

Other Reviews This Month:

Books I Read But Did Not Review:

I participated in a readalong earlier in the month of Suzanne Collins’s Gregor the Overlander. I enjoyed it for the most part, giving it three-stars. It is, of course, very different from her Hunger Games series, but perfect for younger readers.

The Re-Read Challenge:

I reread Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling for a special blogger project and cannot properly explain just how much I love this series. For a few thoughts on the reread, you can see my post here.

Kernels of Nonsense:

This month’s discussion posts include Kernels of Nonsense, #35: Twitter Buzz, where I talk about my reaction to seeing promotional content by other bloggers for books they haven’t read yet, and Kernels of Nonsense, #36: Book Unhaul, where I share a few thoughts on deciding to purge the shelves and donate unwanted books to my library.

Favorite Blog Meme Posts This Month:

Sometimes it’s nice to pause and give thanks. In Top Ten Tuesday: Giving Thanks, I take a little time in recognizing some amazing bookish people and bookish things in general.

The Transatlantic Book Project:

Have you heard about the Transatlantic Book Project? Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek and I came up with this fantastic idea where two books will be traveling throughout the US and UK. We have ten bloggers altogether participating and each will have a chance to read and annotate each book. To see who’s participating, have a look at our launch post here. And if you’re curious about my experience annotating Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, you can read my post here.

Other Notable Posts This Month:

Book Haul: November Feast – I had a lovely book haul this month, which included Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: The Illustrated Edition which is by far my favorite book I bought this month. The illustrations are simply gorgeous.

“Would You Rather…” Book Tag – It’s been a while since I did a tag, but this one was really fun.

Things I’m Looking Forward to in December:

Reading More – I still can’t believe I only read five books. Hopefully I’ll get to more this month.

Christmas – I love getting books for Christmas, but more than that I love giving books. I spend a lot of time trying to find the right book for my niece and nephews. This year, my ten-year-old nephew is going to get Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone from me and have I mentioned I’m excited about this? Because I’m excited about this.

2016 Reading Challenges – I’m on the lookout for a comprehensive list of sign-ups for 2016 challenges. If anyone knows of anyone who makes a list, please let me know in the comments.

Month in Review

How was your month November? Did you have a nice Thanksgiving? Who’s ready for Christmas? Feel free to leave me a link to your own wrap-up post and I’ll be sure to visit.

10 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: November ’15

  1. I really enjoyed reading your post, so many interesting things. Reading slumps come to us all from time to time and I hope December is better for you, still overall you fitted in a considerable amount.
    I did see someone with a list of reading challenges but can’t remember where. I follow Novel Challenges as that lists all the challenges that bloggers announce there. Also I just Google Readng challenges 2016 and quite a few come up.
    Your Translantic Book Project sounds fun, hope it works out well.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

