The Transatlantic Book Project: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

TABookProjectgraphic

The Transatlantic Book Project, hosted by myself and Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek is officially underway! For those who haven’t heard of this collaborate project, for the next few months two books will be circulating throughout the US and UK. Ten bloggers are involved in this project and everyone will have a chance to read and annotate each book. For the full list of all the bloggers involved, check out our launch post here. Click on any photo below to enlarge.

For the first round in the US, bloggers will be reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. Rachel was kind enough to send me a few little goodies with her chosen book (all the chocolate is gone by the way). Harry Potter is, of course, really special to me. It’s by far my favorite series and I’m pretty confident no other book will live up to it. I actually reread it last year after far too long and it really doesn’t matter how many times I do, it’s so wonderful.

I honestly cannot remember the last time I wrote in a book. When Rachel and I first started discussing this project, I was a little nervous about jumping in. I don’t write in my books, I don’t dog-ear, bend the covers, or toss them across the room (I have seen people do this!). When it was finally time to start, I swallowed all my misgivings and got to work. The first note is the hardest, but after a while, I found it easier to reach for a pen or highlighted. I think the most difficult thing about annotating was trying to limit myself. I wanted to give everyone else participating a chance to make their own notes.

What I found really surprising while reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is how often it conjured up images from the first movie. I really applaud the makers of the first movie, which is probably the most faithful of all of them. By the time I finished the book, I was ready to pull out the DVD and watch it. I also recently bought the illustrated edition of this book (I’ll be sharing several photos of it in my book haul post for the month) and spent a little time pairing the illustrations with my place in the book. This brought Harry Potter to life in a different way than reading or watching the movie. If you haven’t had a chance to see this new HP edition in person and you’re a fan of the series, I highly recommend you give yourself an early Christmas present. You won’t regret it!

So how did it feel to write in Harry Potter? Overall, it was a little weird. Like I said before, I don’t write in books. I’m not sure I’d take to annotating my books on a regular basis. I will say that I found myself looking ahead a lot and wishing I could annotate another HP book later in the series when we get a chance to see how these characters grow over time.

I’m really excited to see everyone else’s posts when they get their hands on this book. Next up is Cristina @ Girl in the Pages who I have just sent the book to. Make sure to keep an eye on her blog for the next update. Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek will also have an update soon for The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton, the other book involved in the Transatlantic Book Project.

20 thoughts on “The Transatlantic Book Project: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

  1. Love this post! Your annotating equipment looks super organised and I’m excited to get this book back to see everyone’s notes! It has coloured sticky tabs!!! 😀 I’m feeling the same – annotating was hard at first (the layout of your book makes it easier though!) and I wouldn’t do it in all books, but there is something very enjoyable about noting things as you go and I think I would do it again for myself. Lightly. In pencil. Lol R xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Of course it looks organized, that was the first picture I took before I got started…by the end, I had post-its stuck everywhere. I even found one on the bottom of my shoe. I’m glad to hear it was easy for Ava. Haha, “Lightly. In pencil.” Sounds perfect, so later you can erase it and pretend you never vandalized your book. I might try it if I had a duplicate copy of a book.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Re-Read Challenge: November Recap | A Kernel of Nonsense

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: November ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  4. Ahhh, so you enjoy chocolate? This time of the year, I always snag boxes of Williams-Sonoma’s peppermint barks to savor throughout the year. It usually doesn’t last that long. He he. So, back to point…I love this project! How did you guys select the books to annotate in?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, I got so busy during the holidays that I missed this until now. I’ll have to check to see if there were other posts put up. I LOVE this idea. I think it would be so cool to get a book back with all my friends’ notes in it. Unlike you, I don’t have much problem writing in a book. You’ve got to enjoy life while you’ve got the chance.

    I get what you’re saying about comparing to other representations of the story. Whenever I see a movie based on a book, I always want to go back and reread the book so that I can compare the two.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve loved reading all your notes and seeing all the stickies in the book. LIke you, I’m also trying to limit myself so that others have room for notes. I realize my handwriting could be improved, but I’m trying! LOL. The book will be on its way to Lindsey tomorrow–so loving this project! Thank you for all your hard work!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The Transatlantic Book Project: US Round One Recap | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

