Top Ten Tuesday: Movie Adaptations I Don’t Want to See

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To or Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I Still Need To Watch.” Confession: I’m not a huge fan of movie adaptations, in fact I kind of wince every time I hear that a book is going to be turned into a movie. What can I say? I’ve been burned before. So for this week’s topic, I’m actually going to list ten books I really don’t want to see be made into movies because they are too precious and too good and I would hate to see them be given lackluster adaptations.

 alt=

1. Sevenwaters series by Juliet Marillier – The Sevenwaters series is one of my favorite fantasy series ever and there is something about Marillier’s writing that I believe is just too good for the big screen.

2. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton – This book is phenomenal, but it’s also really strange and I’m not sure a movie adaptation can capture just how lovely the magical realism is in this book.

3. Uprooted by Naomi Novik – As much as I think how amazing the magical elements in an adaptation of this novel would be, I can also see how easily they could ruin it.

4. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers -Ismae Rienne, I feel an uncanny connection with this character and I’m not even sure why, but I do know that I’d be really upset if her character was mishandled on film.

5. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – If this list was in order of movie adaptation I’d be least excited to hear about, then this one would be number one. No one really understands just how attached I am to these characters because I’m constantly checking myself, lest I come across as absolutely crazy. I’d actually pay money for this book not to be made into a movie, that’s how sure I am that I’d be disappointed.

6. Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier – I should really just list all of Juliet Marillier’s books, but this one, being the first book of hers I picked up, means something to me more than the others and I’d hate to see an awful adaptation of it.

7. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – I’m pretty sure this book can’t be adapted. There are just so many elements that I think work best on paper and if they were ever translated onto the big screen, it could end up being a mess.

8. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson – This beautiful, wonderful, amazing series should not be spoiled with an inaccurate depiction of its world or characters, and we all know Hollywood is known for its whitewashing. No, just no.

9. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – This book is my newest obsession. I’m so in love with it, all the characters are so complex and well thought-out, and I’m not sure a movie adaptation would do them justice.

10. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle – This book has in fact been made into a movie, well a made-for-tv one. I could not finish it because the casting was awful and the effects were terrible and I just can’t even–And even though there’s been a little chatter about an another adaptation, I’m hoping it doesn’t happen.

Are there any novels you’d rather see not be made into a movie? How do you feel about movie adaptations in general? Share your thoughts in the comments and be sure to leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Movie Adaptations I Don’t Want to See

  1. I totally understand where you’re coming from. Some time a book is so precious to you that you don’t want to have it marred by a half-assed Hollywood production. Interesting way to approach this week’s topic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel like Wildwood Dancing would be the kind of movie that could be absolutely stunning if it were done right, and be really visually interesting and atmospheric, but at the same time I feel like it would be very likely to be done badly as well. And I totally agree with you on The Raven Boys. If an adaptation were anything less than absolutely perfect I’d be shattered. I think if they announced there was going to be a Raven Boys movie I’d be excited, but also pretty terrified. I think that of Maggie Stiefvater’s books, The Scorpio Races is definitely the best suited to adaptations.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, yes, yes. The Scorpio Races is apparently going to be a movie. I’ve been hearing things about it and on Twitter Maggie Stiefvater posted that she was meeting with the director. I love the Scorpio Races, so I’m hoping it will be good, but I’m lowering my expectations because of self-preservation.

      Like

  3. Omg we are the complete opposite on this subject! I want all my favourite books to be made into movies!!
    I would be a flailing ball of happiness if they made The Raven Cycle into a movie franchise!!!
    However I can understand why you hate adaptions so much. (Vampire Academy anyone?) I just go into each book to movie adaption with all my fingers crossed that it’s going to be brilliant 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great spin on the topic! I don’t think I’d want to see some of my favorite Urban Fantasy books (Kelley Armstrong’s series or Ilona Andrews books) turned into a movie. Mostly because Hollywood doesn’t have a great track record with making good action movies with strong female leads.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree that most of the time the book doesn’t translate well into a movie. I don’t understand why EVERY book has to be turned into a movie!? It’s like Hollywood is running out of ideas and this is their solution. I’m kinda glad I got out of watching movies regularly. It’s rare that I even want to see a movie that is out.

    I have heard great things about Uprooted and have it to read on my Kindle. Hopefully soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I agree with these not being made into movies. Especially anything by Maggie Stiefvater. Her books have this timeless emotional quality that I don’t think would transition well into a movie. 🙂 Great list.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

