Kernels of Nonsense, #35: Twitter Buzz

Kernels of Nonsense (2)Kernels of Nonsense is a bimonthly discussion feature where I tackle various book and blogging related topics. This week I’d like to discuss a specific kind of hype that I’ve noticed on Twitter.

I have a difficult relationship with hype. On one hand, I understand how important it is for publishers to build-up their books before their release and how essential readers (and specifically bloggers) are to this equation. On the other hand, hype can be extremely deceiving, creating praise for a book that in the end does not live up to the buzz. I wrote a post on my feelings about this in Kernels of Nonsense, #19: Book Hype if you’d like a more in depth look at my thoughts on the subject.

I’m a bit of a newbie when it comes to Twitter. I joined for the first time in May, so there are still things about it I don’t quite understand and it can sometimes drive me crazy that I only have a limited amount of characters to use when it comes to expressing myself (I have too many words!). Recently, I’ve noticed a lot of enthusiasm for a few titles that haven’t been released yet. There are chats, quizzes, and general buzz surrounding these novels and as much as I’d like to share in these interactive features, I find it hard to get excited about books I haven’t read. It becomes even more difficult when you realize the ARCs for these books haven’t been released yet.

Of course, there are exceptions. If a book is from a series I’ve been enjoying like the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer (anything Winter on my Twitter feed immediately gets my attention), I can’t help but feel excited. Also if one of my favorite authors is about to release a new book, my ears immediately perk up. But getting excited about books by authors I’m unfamiliar with is almost an impossible feat.

Left and right I see bloggers overcome with enthusiasm for not-yet-released titles. Some of these bloggers are part of street teams whose job it is to get the word out and while I can respect this, I’m not sure I’d feel conformable myself being a part of a street team tasked with promoting a book I don’t even know if I’ll like. Again, if the book is part of a series I love, I can understand the excitement a little better. Then there are the bloggers who aren’t a part of these street teams but still exhibit a high level of fervor. These are the ones that have me questioning my own lack of zeal. Am I missing something? Is this a part of the book blogging experience that I’ve just been missing out on?

Perhaps it’s because I’m naturally cynical, but I try to stay away from all this buzz. When my Twitter feed is filled with chatter about novels I haven’t read, I might jump on over to Goodreads to learn a little more about it, but this buzz usually has little effect on me. In fact, if I’m honest, the more buzz, the less likely I am to jump up and down for a book that hasn’t been released.

How do you feel about Twitter buzz? Do you participate in chats for books that haven’t been released yet or quizzes? Do you get excited for these releases even though little is known about them? Where do you get your enthusiasm and can you lend me some? Share your thoughts in the comments!

12 thoughts on “Kernels of Nonsense, #35: Twitter Buzz

  1. Twitter can get exhausting sometimes. It’s a tool for promotion, and some authors/readers/reviewers can really overdo it. But I like that you can kind of curate whose voices you want to see. If someone starts tweeting too often or too effusively, I can just mute them or unfollow them for a while. That way I can hear about new things, but not hear *too much* about new things, if that makes sense.

    As it spills over into real life: Marissa Meyer is doing a reading near me and I reaaaaaaally want to go, but I’m kind of worried that it’s going to be all squealing, excited teens. Not that there’s anything wrong with excited teens, but I’m not sure I have the energy…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I do like that I don’t have to follow those who over promote, especially when I’m not sure how sincere it can be when I know bloggers haven’t even gotten a chance to read the books yet. Considering the numbers when it comes to YA readers, I’m certain that they’ll be more than just enthusiastic teens attending…like enthusiastic adults!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m in agreement with you. The more buzz the less likely I am to want to read it, at least at first. I’m more turned off by hyped books, because most of the time they don’t live up to the hype for me. I hate being disappointed. I’ve been trying more and more to stay away from hype, not read reviews, because it ruins the reading experience for me. I understand what you’re saying, and I can’t get on board with promoting a book I haven’t even read (unless, like you said, it’s my favorite author or series).

    Liked by 1 person

    • When a book is heavily promoted, my brain immediately puts up these warning signs “Proceed With Caution.” As much as I like hearing about new books, I’d rather not hear how good it is until readers actually get their hands on it. Yes, there is also the “spoiler” factor which I forgot to mention, but I don’t want to know too much about a book before picking it up, it sort of ruins the experience for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m exactly the same! It really makes me suspicious when I see bloggers promoting books that they haven’t read yet. Maybe suspicious isn’t exactly the right word… maybe uncomfortable?
    I tend to only get excited about unreleased books if they’re by an author I love or, like you say, continuing a series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have so many questions! Why are you so excited about this release? How do you know it will be good? If you read it and don’t like it, will you let other people know or will you stay mum? I think the word you’re looking for is wary, or at least, that is how I feel.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: November ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  5. I also get suspicious when people promote books they haven’t read yet. Like, how can you recommend a book you haven’t read? I am however, guilty of the following: I tweeted about my excitement to pick up The Crown’s Game when it gets released because the synopsis sounds great to me. I did that, yes… but I would never truly promote or recommend a book I haven’t read yet… That’s just ridiculous to me.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

