Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Debut Authors Whose Sophomore Novels Have Me Excited

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel (because when you love a debut you just are ITCHING to get your hands on the author’s second book) or Top Ten Sophomore Novels That I Loved Just As Much If Not More As The Author’s Debut (no one hit wonders heeeere!).” This list may include authors whose sophomore novels have already been released, but I haven’t read yet, so I’m still looking forward to them. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

1. Moïra Fowley-Doyle – I’m in love with The Accident Season (I find every opportunity to say so) and really look forward to what else this author has in store in the future.

2. Leslye Walton – The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender is beyond beautiful and I have every confidence that Walton can wow me again. Read this one if you haven’t had a chance.

3. Erin Morgenstern The Night Circus was released in 2011 and even though I only read it last year, it feels like I’ve been waiting forever for a new book by this author.

4. Sandra Waugh – I just bought her sophomore novel, the sequel to Lark Rising, and really need to pick it up soon. Fans of Juliet Marillier should really check this her out.

5. Becky Wallace The Storyspinner probably could have been better, but I really enjoyed it and am looking forward to the sequel set to be released next year.

6. Kendall Kulper – Loved Salt & Storm and unbeknownst to me, another novel set in the same universe was published in September. I must find a way to get my hands on it.

7. Amy Engel – I’m getting the sequel to her debut novel The Book of Ivy in the mail today, so I’m plenty excited to get started. I did not expect to like the first novel as much as I did.

8. Elizabeth May – For a while I didn’t think The Falconer was going to get a sequel, but it looks like the next book’s release will be next June. That gives me enough time to reread this one. So good!

9. Nicola Yoon – I was pleasantly surprised by Everything, Everything and look forward to what else this author writes in the future.

10. Cristin Terrill – All Our Yesterdays was really good and I’m actually surprised she hasn’t released another novel.

Have you read any of these authors? Do we have any authors in common this week? Share your thoughts in the comments and be sure to leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit you.

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Debut Authors Whose Sophomore Novels Have Me Excited

  1. Great list. We share The Night Circus. I’ve been hearing good things about Lark Rising and The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. More books to add to my never ending ‘I need these’ list, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

