October Fright: Horror Flicks That Will Make You Scream

AKernelOctober

For a little change of pace, I wanted to highlight a few horror movies that get me excited for this time of year. Some of these are movies I had no business watching as a kid, but if I thought I could get away with it, well, I watched them. I’m not a big fan of the horror movies made these days (too much gore, not a lot of substance), but I was able to come up with a couple that I really like. And no list would be complete without a childhood favorite. I apologize if any of these gifs give you nightmares. Even I got a little creeped out making this post.

1. Halloween (1978) – Is it the mask? The fact that this villain never says a single word? How about the fact that you can run from him, but he, at a rather nonchalant gait, can still catch up to you? I don’t quite remember when it was that I watched the original Halloween, but Michael Meyers is such an iconic figure and if I ever spotted him across my street, I’d probably wet my pants.

Moral of the Story: There are some family skeletons that don’t stay buried.

2. The Shining (1980) – Jack Nicholson is phenomenal in this film, I cannot praise his acting enough. One of my favorite parts of this movie is the soundtrack, it is absolutely chilling. If you haven’t gotten a chance to click on the music video I’ve set up for October, take a look to the right. This is from the opening credits of the Shining and no matter how many times I’ve listened to it, when it gets to a minute and a half, chills run down my spine every time.

Moral of the Story: Playing caretaker for a hotel located in the middle of nowhere is never a good idea.

3. Poltergeist (1982) – Without seeing the remake, I can already tell you that it will never live up to the kind of scares I got from watching this movie for the first time. Ironically, the ghosts and the evil clown did not scare me as much as Zelda Rubinstein playing the strange medium. There’s just something about her character that I find extremely unnerving.

Moral of the Story: Respect the dead because you’ll regret it if you don’t.

4. The Ring (2002) – This was the first horror movie in the “modern” era that I actually enjoyed. A lot of horror films think blood = fright, but to me, you don’t need to have a serial killer chasing after a bunch of dimwitted teens and butchering them in order to be scary. Little girls just have a way of being really creepy all on their own.

Moral of the story: Don’t watch unmarked VHS tapes.

5. The Conjuring (2013) – I love this movie. Maybe it’s the whole idea of it being based on a true story or the fact that Ed and Lorraine Warren are real people who truly believe they’re demonologists, but I find it strangely fascinating. I love that this film is so scary, it earned a “R” rating based on sheer terror alone.

Moral of the story: Always check the history of the house you’re planning to move into.

6. Pan’s Labyrinth (2006) – I’m not sure if this film is considered horror horror, or if it’s more like a twisted fairy tale, but there are some scary creatures in this film. The Faun for one, but this creepy character above really freaks me out. This film is incredibly beautiful and I’d recommend it to anyone, even if you’re not into horror.

Moral of the story: When someone tells you not to touch the food, don’t touch the food!

7. Hocus Pocus (1993) – Let’s end on a bit of a lighter note. This is my all-time favorite Halloween movie. I loved it as a kid and still love to watch it when Halloween comes around. In elementary school, my friends and I would pretend we were the Sanderson Sisters. I also had a huge crush on Thackery Binx, but who didn’t?

Moral of the story: Don’t light the Black Flame candle!

What are some of your favorite horror movies? Which do you look forward to watching in October?

19 thoughts on “October Fright: Horror Flicks That Will Make You Scream

  1. The Conjuring freaked me out!! I watched it one night afyer I’d recently moved into my old farmhouse. Then I went to get something from the closet and found a door on the floor leading to the basement…so scary.
    I agree about the modern guts and gore. That’s not scary to me. I like more paranormal and psychological type horror like a good exorcism movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list of movies! I love so many of these and will have to check out a few. I just realized that I’ve never seen Poltergeist.

    A somewhat recently horror movie I just watched was Cabin in the Woods. Loved it. It’s been a long time since I honestly didn’t want to see ANY of the characters in a horror flick die.

    I also really love campy horror films like Jeepers Creepers, Lake Placid and THEM!. The campier the better. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Conjuring is one of my favorite new horror movies. The Ring and The Shining are also great (although I definitely prefer the King’s). Have you ever seen the original Japanese version of The Ring, Ringu,because that was good too but different from the American version. I also just found out that Ringu is based on a book which I will have to read. I just got Hocus Pocus at the library and that is one my favorites too! I’m also hoping to watch The Others and 1408 before Halloween! Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn’t think the Conjuring was scary at all but I did really like it. It’s definitely well made! I really need to watch Pan’s Labryinth; it sounds like something I would like. Of the few horror movies I’ve watched, I really liked Insidious and The Babadook. And I just saw the trailer for The Boy which looks really scary. There’s just something about dolls that’s just.. *shudders*

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the list – love the morals! One of my favourites has always been Pet Sematary. Still find it scary! And Jack Nicholson is perfect in the Shining – I don’t like him or that movie, but he’s perfect in that movie (if that makes sense).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Halloween is my all time favorite movie. My husband and I make sure to watch it every year. That gif is awesome!!

    I need to watch Hocus Pocus. It’s been forever.

    And I want to see The Conjuring – seems like a movie I would love!

    This is a great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: October Fright: The Grueseome Recap | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

