Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett

Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett

Title: Blood and Salt
Author: Kim Liggett
Series: Blood and Salt, #1

Ash Larkin has been plagued by visions of a dead girl for as long as she can remember. Her mother believes these ghostly apparitions are tied to her own past with Quivira, a community founded centuries ago. When Ash’s mother disappears, Ash and her twin brother Rhys travel to the isolated community to find her. But nothing is normal about Quivira, where everyone believes that the founders of their community are waging a war against each other in hope of attaining immortality. With each passing day, Ash’s visions are becoming more vivid, calling her to uncover secrets members of the community would rather see stay buried.

“I ran until every thought in my head was snuffed out by the sound of my own heartbeat. Until I knew I was still here. That I was still me.”

Kim Liggett’s Blood and Salt was a really frustrating read for me because although I enjoyed the story, the problems I had with the romance portion resulted in me giving the book a lower rating. Quivira was founded in the 16th century, but a love affair ended tragically when Alonso, the man Ash’s ancestor Katia loved, was murdered by the Spaniard Coronado and Katia was forced to become blood bound to him. The citizens of Quivira believe that on the summer solstice, Katia will finally be reunited with her lover by inhabiting a chosen vessel in her bloodline, but these plans have been thwarted over the years by Coronado.

I really enjoyed Ash’s brother Rhys. Unlike Ash, he doesn’t have any unexplained abilities and has always regarded his sister’s visions as a self-fulfilling prophecy. In many ways he’s the opposite of Ash, he’s more skeptical, self-conscious, and I found him much more relatable than the main character. Beth was by far my favorite character. A member of Quivira, Beth is known as a seer, but an accident years ago, has made her gift unstable. She’s a little weird, but charmingly naive which I found really endearing.

Blood and Salt focuses heavily on the love story and unfortunately, it is this part of the book that I enjoyed the least. The initial attraction between Ash and Dane wasn’t a problem for me, but their relationship lacked any kind of build-up. I never felt they got to know one another and as a result, I found myself largely disinterested in their connection because it felt solely based on physical attraction, even though the book tried to sell it to me as some great love story.

Rating: 2/5

★★

9 thoughts on “Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett

  1. So many people have had such awesome things to say about this book, and while I haven’t read it yet, I’m not sure if I’m going to anytime soon. I was hoping for more of a spooky and less romantic story, but it doesn’t seem like that’s the case for this one, and it’s a bummer.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Book Haul: October Magical Additions | A Kernel of Nonsense

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: October ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

