Top Ten Tuesday: Ideal Author Pairings

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Author Duos You’d LOVE To See Write A Book Together.” Before I even made this list, I knew it was going to be a lot of fun. And now that I’ve finished it, I can say that this is one of my favorite Top Ten Tuesday lists ever and I’d fall all over myself if any of these duos actually wrote a book together. There would be a heck of a lot of fangirling, a very empty wallet, and goofy smile plastered to my face for days. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Ten Ideal Author Pairings:

1. Maggie Stiefvater and Neil Gaiman – I’m thinking a book between these two would not only be really weird, but would also make me laugh. They are both deliberate with the details in their stories, so anything written by them would take a while to dissect. I’d love it.

2. Sarah Rees Brennan and Marissa Meyer– There’s something just so fun about their books, I’m convinced they could come up with something light and fun to read that would have me cracking up every other page.

3. Rae Carson and Robin LaFevers – I almost had a heart attack when I put these two names next to each other. These authors have written two of my all-time favorite fantasy series. They write amazing characters and their universes are wonderfully put together, oh my goodness, I need a book written by these two now!

4. V.E. Schwab and Leigh Bardugo – I originally had these two with other people, but then it occurred to me that a novel authored by these two might actually result in people dying of excitement. Tell me I am wrong! I’d pay good money for a novel by these two, maybe even a finger (half kidding!).

5. Brennan Yovanoff and Cat Winters – Both these authors write novels that are a little bit strange, a little bit scary, so it’s a good thing that I like books that are a little bit strange and a little bit scary. Together, they’d make a story that was a little–you get the picture.

6. J.K. Rowling and Cornelia Funke – Harry Potter and Inkheart, two of my favorite children’s books ever. Can you imagine how epic a joint children’s series by them would be?

7. Jonathan Maberry and Rick Yancey – Zombies and aliens, no matter what it is, these two authors have a gift for writing action-adventures and I’d love to see what they could come up with together.

8. Marie Rutkoski and Sarah J. Maas – These authors have a way of ripping my heart right out of my chest, tossing it on the floor, and stomping on it. I’ve no doubt they could write a novel together that would have me weeping for a week.

9. Moïra Fowley-Doyle and Leslye Walton – Magical realism has become one of my favorite genres and these two have written two beautiful and haunting novels that make me want to write poetry in their honor. A novel by these two might just make me cry tears of joy.

10. Juliet Marillier and Rachel Hartman – These two excel at world-building, excel! I’d love to read a novel by these two. I’m sure I’d drown in their world very happily.

Are any of these pairings intriguing to you? Of the ones I listed, which two would you love to see work together? Share your thoughts in the comments and be sure to leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit you.

48 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ideal Author Pairings

  1. *squees* I haven’t written out the reasoning behind my choices, but I’ve written the list of author duos I’d like to see, and #1 on my list was ALSO Stiefvater/Gaiman! OH MY GOD. This makes me so happy! I’ve seen a lot of people pair Stiefvater with, say, Holly Black, and I think that would totally work too, but… agh, I just really really want her to cowrite something with Neil Gaiman.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have yet to do a TTT, but this looks so much fun! I am most intrigue with Juliet Marillier and Rachel Hartman. Perhaps we can blissfully drown together.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Maggie stievfater and Neil gaimen would be epic. That would be such a fantastically eerie book. And I haven’t read either author for #5 but that sounds right up my alley as well. I only came up with 2 duos so far, then had to run to work. But I want to spend time thinking of some more, this is fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Dream Author Duos | Musings From Neville's Navel

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: October ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

