Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books for Fans of Sarah J. Maas

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books To Read If You Like This Super Popular Book/Author.” After considering several different authors and books, I settled on making a list for those who enjoy Sarah J. Maas. I’m a big fan of her Throne of Glass series and really enjoyed A Court of Thorns and Roses. And since she is super popular right now, I thought this would be the perfect time to put together a list of books that might appeal to you if you enjoy amazing world-building, character development, and fantasy elements. So if you’re a fan of Maas, these books are sure to delight you. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Ten Books for Fans of Sarah J. Maas:

1. Graceling by Kristin Cashore – I believe this was one of the very first YA fantasy books I ever picked up and it blew my mind. If for some strange reason, you’ve never read it, do yourself a favor and hunt it down!

2. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers – This is the first book that came to mind when I thought of this list because assassins! Bonus: assassins working out of a nunnery! One of my favorite fantasy series ever, I love everything about this first book. Go read it!

3. The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley – This fantasy book is a classic and if you have any love for the genre, you’ll pick this one up.

4. The Falconer by Elizabeth May – This book is an exciting combination of fantasy and steampunk. It also features Fae, which if you are familiar with Sarah J. Maas is one of her favorite fantasy creatures to write about.

5. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – Fighting to keep your kingdom alive? Look no further than Snow Like Ashes. Also, the protagonist uses a chakram, tell me that’s not awesome!

6. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder – Like Celaena, Yelena has been imprisoned for murder and just like in Throne of Glass, the protagonist in Poison Study is about to get an offer she can’t possibly refuse.

7. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge – If you’re looking for another original retelling of Beauty and the Beast, look no further than this one. Dark and twisted, this one is unlike any B&B retelling I’ve come across.

8. Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier – For those looking for a longer fantasy series, I’d go with Sevenwaters. No one does world-building like Juliet Marillier and her novels always have a “fairy-tale” quality to them as well.

9. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta – I’m convinced that anyone who enjoys Sarah J. Maas will find a lot to love with this one. An author made popular by her contemporary novels, Marchetta excels at fantasy too.

10. Uprooted by Naomi Novik – Love the magic in Maas’s books, but looking for more of an adult novel? Try Uprooted!

Are you a fan of Sarah J. Maas? Have you read any of these? Do you have any recommendations for me as a fan of Maas? Share your thoughts in the comments and leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books for Fans of Sarah J. Maas

  1. Here’s my TTT text .

    Plus yes ! Huge fan of Sarah J. Maas ! I may be interviewing her when she comes to Australia ! Fingers crossed ! It’s been a crazy year this year of author signings with Cassandra Clare and Holly Black also visiting my city! I’d fangirl more but heres a quick link to the summary of my adventure text . lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am loving Throne of Glass, just taking longer than I expected to finish it cos it’s in ebook format. But I love this list! Need to read these books! lol. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Graceling and Poison Study. And apparently Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard is really good too according to the reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Read Throne of Glass just last week and I really enjoyed it! I’ve been wanting to read Poison Study and Finnikin of the Rock for quite some time now, finding it on this list makes me want to read them sooner. Among all those listed I’ve only read Graceling, I didn’t enjoy it that much. I guess it wasn’t for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great choices! I loved The Falconer, Graceling, Cruel Beauty, and Uprooted. All your choices seem perfect for SJM fans! I really need to read Grave Mercy and Snow Like Ashes. Another couple I’d add to your list is The Sin-Eater’s Daughter and The Orphan Queen. Both were really good!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Excellent subject!! I’m still relatively new to Fantasy, and still approach each new read cautiously, even though every time I pick a fantasy book up I LOVE it. I’ll be adding all of these to Goodreads! R x

    Like

Share your thoughts here!

