Kernels of Nonsense, #33: Blogging in Advance

Kernels of Nonsense (2)Kernels of Nonsense is a bimonthly discussion feature where I talk about various bookish or blogging related topics. Today I want to talk about preparing blog posts in advance.

For the past two weeks I’ve been working on a series of posts for October. I’m planning on a big Halloween-centered month and working on them in advance is going to make October a whole lot less stressful. Or at least this is what I imagine it will feel like. This really got me thinking that I don’t prepare enough of my posts ahead of time.

Okay, so that’s not exactly true. For the two blog memes I participate in each week (Top Ten Tuesday and the Friday 56), I actually post them the night before. This is simply because I live on the West Coast and by the time morning rolls around for me, the day is almost over for half the world, so it just makes sense for me to post them early. Even so, I end up putting them together the same night rather than a day or two ahead of time. Please don’t judge me, I’m one of those people who thinks not showing up early somehow counts as showing up late.

When I first started blogging, I actually did start out working on the TTT posts early, but somewhere along the lines I stopped. I don’t know exactly why this is. Ideally, the weekend would be a perfect time to set up posts for the week and not stress to get them done. So why am I not doing this? A part of the reason is that when I do have free time, I want to read and blogging plays second fiddle to that. After all, I blog because I love reading, not the other way around. Another reason, and this might sound terrible, is that if I can get away with preparing these posts at the last minute, then I do. This is probably a really bad habit to learn and somewhere down the line, I’m going to need to unlearn it, especially since I really do want to make an effort to prepare more posts in advance.

I do make an effort to work on posts that are more involved or absurdly long, but I usually don’t end up finishing them until it’s almost time to post. For example, this post. I’ve been working on it post sporadically since Wednesday and as is my usual routine, I’ll be taking a moment to edit it some time on Saturday before scheduling it. Also, wrap-up posts, those can take forever, so I usually start working on them a few days before posting them.

In my mind, putting together posts and scheduling them in advance sounds so ideal. I imagine less stress and even more time to read throughout the week without worrying about getting certain posts done. Besides book reviews, which are usually written right after I finish a book, and thus have no set schedule to them, all the other posts on my blog have a specific time they go up. I should be able to work on these beforehand, but for some reason I don’t and I really want to change this.

Do you work on blog posts in advance? Do you ever schedule a week or two worth of posts ahead of time? Does this alleviate the stress? Or are you more of a procrastinator? Share your thoughts in the comments!

15 thoughts on “Kernels of Nonsense, #33: Blogging in Advance

  1. I am SUCH a procrastinator. I’ve been getting back in the habit of planning my weekly memes (Top Ten Tuesday and Waiting On Wednesday). But, when it comes to book reviews, I tend to procrastinate on those because they’re much longer posts, and therefore more time consuming. But, it definitely relieves a lot of stress to schedule posts earlier. I got a lot of work done this past week, and I found that I’ve had a lot more time to read this weekend because I’m not stressing about the posts I have going up this week! This is an insightful post! Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m new to the book blog world but I work as a content manager for a social media training company. At work we’re all about planning and scheduling posts ahead of time. But when it comes to my own blog I always intend on writing posts ahead of time but its very seldom that I actually manage to. Life gets in the way… and procrastination…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I used to be the same as you, but since my exams are coming up I thought I better start scheduling posts. And it’s great! I can study without stressing, and I’ve found time to visit a whole load of other blogs. So I would recommend it, but I understand why you don’t do it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve had to this month, because of university, but normally I’m not as organised. I’ll have things ready to go, but often chop and change as the mood strikes me. I don’t really stress about it too much, because I figure that if I haven’t got a post up today, no one will be hurt, and since I don’t have any kind of schedule, it doesn’t interrupt anything!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have to confess that I almost never schedule my posts in advance. 90% of my posts are written on the same night and currently I am not working on any posts haha. I should learn to schedule though because it does get a bit stressful, since my posts are typically around 800 words long! I am going on holiday for a month in November, so I have to work out how I’ll get around that… haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve been blogging for 3 years and I’ve pretty much NEVER scheduled posts in advance. There have maybe been 5 reviews that have been written a few weeks or days in advance… the rest have ALL been written the night before. I don’t think I’ve ever not done a TTT on Monday night. Ever. I am the same as you, reading is my priority, so I take my spare time to read not pre-blog. I’m sure you aren’t near as last minute as me though… but it works for me and makes me happy so it’s cool 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I always schedule my posts ahead of time. Sometimes crazy far in advance. (I seriously have a tag already scheduled for December.) The fact is that I don’t always have the time or energy to work on posts before they need to go up, so whenever I have free time and feel like working on my blog, I start scheduling posts. I’m absolutely terrible at getting things done at the last minute – they turn out poorly put together and just not very good looking. Add that to the fact that sometimes my internet won’t work for days and if I waited until the day I wanted to post, I think my blog would look rather…sparse. For me, the biggest reason this works is because I can work on whatever interests me the most at the time. Maybe I want to write a discussion post, but the next one that goes up is a TTT. If I schedule them in advance, I don’t have to worry about it. (Also, I get lazy enough sometimes that I NEED to have a buffer.) One of the biggest issues I’ve found is when the subject is one that can change. Like a tag question ‘best book you read last month?’ Well, I obviously have to write that the month I want to post it. And sometimes those TTT lists that ask best something gets an addition between scheduling it and it going live. All in all though, scheduling posts works great for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re amazing! You should create some kind of tutorial on this. I’m surprised by how much I’ve been working on October posts, but December! I’m in awe. I do like the idea of being able to look over certain posts if something changes before posting it, I notoriously read my reviews about a hundred times before they are either perfect or my brain ceases to function.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: September ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

