The Friday 56, #79: Summer of the Mariposas

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’re been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

       “If doing something as simple as returning a dead man to his family would save our family, shouldn’t I try?”

Confession time: I very nearly forgot to do this post tonight. It happens to all of us, right? (Technically it isn’t late because I’m doing it the night before, but I’m used to doing it earlier than now and it feels late to me and now I’m just rambling because it’s late and I should be sleeping) Guadalupe Garcia McCall’s Summer of the Mariposas is a story of five sisters who travel to Mexico and discover what it really means to be a family. This book had a lot of great elements, but I was looking for something a little darker. Despite this, I’m looking forward to picking up another book by this author.

From my review:

“Odilia and her four little sisters have one rule: cinco hermanitas, together forever. The summer a swarm of butterflies takes over their town of Eagle Pass, Texas, the sisters spend their days at a secluded swimming hole fed from the Rio Grande. When they find a body in their hidden sanctuary, instead of calling the authorities, the sisters are determined to return him to his family in Mexico. But their journey will be anything but easy, for wicked creatures seek to ensnare them and the Garza sisters will need to be brave and faithful to one another if they wish to ever return home.” You can read my full review here.

28 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #79: Summer of the Mariposas

  1. This sounds like an interesting read. At first I thought it had something to do with the Spanish novel En el tiempo de las Mariposas which I read in high school. It is a different story but still looks like it would be good.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

