Top Ten Tuesday: YA Horror Lit 101 Books

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught X 101 (examples: YA fantasy 101, feminist literature 101, magic in YA 101, classic YA lit 101, world-building 101).” I really struggled with this week’s topic, despite how open it is. It wasn’t that I couldn’t come up with a topic, it was that it was so specific, I couldn’t come up with ten books for it. But in the end I picked horror because it gives me an opportunity to list all kinds of books. Zombies, ghosts, serial killers. There is a wide range of topics that can be classified as horror and while this is by no means a complete list, here are a few that I would love to discuss if I ever taught a YA Horror Lit class. Covers linked to Goodreads.

YA Horror Lit 101 Books:

1. Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry – Zombies galore, run for your lives!

2. The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winter – The most frightening images in this book involve dentistry. Seriously, I’m not kidding. There is also the fact that the MC begins seeing demons.

3. I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga – Nothing like having a serial killer for a father.

4. This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers – So original, I really need to reread this zombie novel soon.

5. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – I dare you to just look at the photographs included without getting a little creeped out.

 alt=

6. The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff– There’s something extremely terrifying about changelings.

7. Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco – Rin Chupeco does horror really well and now I’m even more afraid of dolls than I was before.

8. Shutter by Courtney Alameda – Ah, yes, exorcisms, where do I sign up? Kidding.

9. The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong – Necromancy is a gift I would never want to have.

10.  Coraline by Neil Gaiman- I once read that Neil Gaiman says that it is only adults that are terrified of this book. Consider this adult terrified.

Any other books I should add to my syllabus? I’m always up for a good horror book, so give me your recs in the comments. And be sure to leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: YA Horror Lit 101 Books

  1. Cool list! I am not a huge fan of horror since I scare easily but I have Rot & Ruin on my shelf and I’m looking forward to reading Miss Peregrine’s and The Summoning. I think the only other horror book I have in my shelf is Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake — haven’t read that one either haha.

    Here’s my Top Ten, if you’d like to check it out! Anjie @ Love Thy Shelf

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great list Alicia! I don’t read enough horror, but I never really know what to pick up either. Now I have a list to start with.

    I absolutely love I Hunt Killers! It’s so creepy, realistic and horrifying. I really want to pick up the Replacement and The Cure for Dreaming now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Horror usually isn’t the genre for me, although I did enjoy Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I also really want to read Coraline because I love Neil Gaiman’s writing! Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great topic — and I agree, Coraline is really scary. The other mother? Shudder. I want to read the Cat Winters book, although now that I know there’s some horror dentistry in their, I don’t know — that’s like one of my worst nightmares! I really enjoyed Miss Peregrine, and need to make time for the sequel!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: August ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

