3rd Annual ARC August: Week Three Update

ARC August
The 3rd Annual ARC August Challenge is hosted by Read.Sleep.Repeat. I ended up not reading for a few days this week while I built my new shelves, so I wasn’t sure I was going to complete this one in time for an update. But after some hard-core reading sessions, I finished. Yay for me! Cover is linked to Goodreads.

ARC August Read #3:
Title: The Scorpion Rules
Author: Erin Bow
Publication Date: September 22, 2015
~~~

The Scorpion Rules was a bit of a let down. While I find the concept of artificial intelligence taking control of the world terrifying, the novel only introduces two AIs. I wanted to know more about the world ruled by the Tales, the AI responsible for the ruthless new order that has its leaders give up their children and kill them if they then decide to go to war with one another. But the setting is limited and the characters themselves did not move me as much as I’d like. Overall, I was underwhelmed by this novel. Look for my full review later this week.

NEXT UP: Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

