Classics Book Tag

So I have a ton of tags that I’ve saved as drafts that I have yet to answer, so logically I thought it was time to do a tag I wasn’t tagged for. I saw Belinda @ Bookarahma do this tag a few months ago and since I enjoy the occasional classic, I thought this would be refreshingly different since I blog mostly about YA books.

1. An overhyped classic you really didn’t like:

Now don’t freak out, I understand Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre is regarded as a work of art by many and at fifteen I thought it was positively awful. However, I am now much older and I am really eager to give this one another try. It also helps that I can’t recall why I hated it so much.

2. Favorite time period to read about:

I’m going to say the 1800s and you can thank Jane Austen for that.

3. Favorite fairy-tale:

I really like the original Sleeping Beauty fairy tale as it more closely resembles the one we are familiar with compared to the other rather strange and messed up (to be blunt) versions collected by the Brothers Grimm.

5. Top 5 classics you would like to read (soon):

6. Favourite modern book/series based on a classic:

Diana Peterfreund’s For Darkness Shows the Stars is based on Jane Austen’s Persuasion and is one of my very favorite books.

7. Favourite movie version/tv-series based on a classic:

Hmm, I’m going to go with To Kill a Mockingbird. I really love the movie and think it is a fantastic adaptation of Harper Lee’s novel.

8. Worst classic to movie adaptation:

The Great Gatsby. I hated that movie, it’s too awful, I think I blocked most of it out.

9. Favorite edition(s) you’d like to collect more classics from:

The Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions. I have a beautiful blue Pride and Prejudice and an awesome Frankenstein edition, but I would love more.

10. An underhyped classic you’d recommend to everyone:

The Sorrows of Young Werther by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, but I should warn you, it will make you cry.

Please feel free to take part in this tag and if you leave a link in the comments, I’ll be sure to check out your post.

9 thoughts on “Classics Book Tag

  1. Please read Jane Eyre again! I think I’d have hated it too if I read it at 15…
    I’ve heard a few good things about The Sorrows of Young Werther recently, maybe it is a sign that some Goethe is in my future somewhen!
    Thanks for linking me in, I love all of your choices!! =D

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my 2015 reading resolutions was to read more classics and so far, I’ve been rubbish at it (I’ve only read The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood if you count that as a classic).
    I think Pride and Prejudice is my favourite classic, too, and I enjoyed Emma a lot – but not as much as Persuasion or Sense and Sensibility. I can definitely recommend The Hobbit, it’s wonderful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: August ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

