The Friday 56, #74: Uprooted

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’re been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“I tried to be glad for her. I was mostly sorry for myself. It was hard to be alone and cold in my high tower room, locked away. The Dragon didn’t mark the holiday; for all I knew, he didn’t even know what day it was.”

Naomi Novik’s Uprooted is a delightful fantasy novel, well-deserving of the high praise it has been receiving these last few months. I loved its characters, world-building, and the antagonist is one of the creepiest I’ve come across in literature. I definitely recommend it to those who love fantasy.

From my review:

“Every ten years the Dragon takes a girl from the valley to live in his tower in exchange for keeping the people safe from the Wood and its creatures. Agnieszka and the rest of of those under the Dragon’s protection are convinced that the lovely and dauntless Kasia will be chosen, but the powerful wizard surprises them all when he takes Agnieszka instead. Taken from her home and forced to serve the malcontent Dragon, Agnieszka discovers a power inside her she never knew existed. But the Wood the Dragon has work so hard to keep at bay is devising a plan to devour the land and the people with it and Agnieszka will have to use everything she’s learned to help stop it.” My full review can be found here.

28 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #74: Uprooted

  1. I keep seeing this book pop up. I love the cover and your 56 has me thinking it would be a great book. I will have to see if the library has it.

    Thanks for sharing!
    Amanda

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

