The Friday 56, #73: Unspoken

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’re been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Also be sure to leave me a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“Do you have a very intelligent collie who might communicate through a system of barks to your parents that little Kami is in the well?”

Kami closed her eyes and leaned her cheek against the wet planes of Jared’s collarbone. “We’re going to die.” Something else dawned on her. “And where is your shirt?”

I missed this meme last week with a little finger injury that is still taking some time to heal, but in the meantime I’m getting really good at only using my left index finger to help my right type. Sarah Rees Brennan’s Unspoken was my July reread and it was better than I remembered it. It’s unbelievable delightful and funny and the protagonist is among my all time favorites.

From my review:

“Kami Glass knows that no matter how quiet her hometown, Sorry-in-the-Vale, appears to be, it must have its own fair share of buried secrets. Secrets that are just waiting for someone to uncover them. When the only living members of the founding family of Lynburns return to Sorry-in-the-Vale, Kami can’t help but notice the strange things that have accompanied their arrival. Strangest of all is the appearance of her imaginary friend, a friend whose voice she’s been hearing in her head forever and one she was convinced didn’t exist. When Kami stumbles upon a gruesome scene in the woods and someone makes an attempt on her life, she realizes Sorry-in-the-Vale’s secrets are more dangerous than she imagined and someone will do anything to keep them hidden.” You can find my full review here.

24 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #73: Unspoken

  1. I love the cover, seeing a lot of the silhouette style lately. I agree with Anne, quote sounds more mature than the impression given by the cover.
    I like your TBR slideshow. Is that a GR widget I haven’t seen, or did you make it from scratch?

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

