Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Favorite Fairy Tale Retellings

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read (or you could do fairytales I want to be retold or fairytales I love).” Gush, gush. Gush, gush, gush. I absolutely adore fairy tale retellings. Maybe it’s the happily-ever-after or the different (and very unexpected) twists on stories we’ve heard all our lives, but I’m always up for a fairy tale retelling. Here are ten of my personal favorites that I recommend. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Ten Favorite Fairy Tale Retellings:

1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer– And the rest of the Lunar Chronicles, Marissa Meyer combines different fairy tales (Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, etc.) and science-fiction into a one-of-a-kind series.

2. Beauty by Robin McKinley – My personal favorite Beauty and the Beast retelling, this is such a lovely book. Must reread soon.

3. Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier – You’ll notice multiple fairy tale retellings by this talented author. This is probably my favorite of hers, a retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses with a Frog Prince twist.

4. Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier – Another Beauty and the Beast retelling that I really enjoyed and since I recently bought a copy, I must reread it soon.

5. Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier – Loosely based on The Six Swans, this is such a wonderful book and the first in her Sevenwaters series (so good!).

6. Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce – This is an awesome Little Red Riding Hood retelling and I’m baffled that I don’t own it.

7. My Fair Godmother by Janette Rallison – If you like your fairy tale retellings with a bit of humor, look no further than this one. Who knew Snow White was so dimwitted.

8. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – Author of one of my favorite series (Throne of Glass) takes on Beauty and the Beast in this beautifully written novel.

9. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge – The final Beauty and the Beast retelling on my list, Rosamund Hodge’s dark tale of girl meets beast is unforgettable.

10.  Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson – So technically not a fairy tale retelling, but it’s a Peter Pan retelling which is a children’s classic, so it’s close enough. Seriously though, if you haven’t read this one, you must!

Are you a fan of fairy tale retellings? Share your favorites if I haven’t listed them, I’d love your recommendations! Be sure to leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

50 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Favorite Fairy Tale Retellings

  1. Half of your top ten are on my tbr list this week! 🙂 I really enjoyed Uprooted, I saw you were “currently reading” it in your sidebar, I hope you like it!
    I liked Cruel Beauty, too, it really is dark but that’s what’s different about it. I still have to read Hodge’s Red Riding Hood retelling.
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, these sound so good! Lovely list. 🙂 ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ and ‘Cruel Beauty’ are on my TBR–can’t wait to check them out! Thanks for sharing all these goodies. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cinder, Beauty, and Daughter of the Forest are all some of my favorites. I didn’t know that Juliet Marmiller had other retellings. I’ll have to find them at the library. The others on your list I’m not familiar with.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great list! For years people have been recommending I read Beauty by Robin McKinley, and I haven’t yet, I’m ashamed to say. I really should. Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite fairytales. The Lunar Chronicles are on my to read list. And I definitely must add Tiger Lily. So many of you have mentioned it today. It does sound good!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve had Daughter of the Forest on my to read pile for so long now, I really need to get on and read it because I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. I love your picks, some really wonderful stories in here!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: August ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

