Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books That Feature PoC Characters

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters (example: features minority/religious minority, socioeconomic diversity, disabled MC, neurotypical character, LGBTQ etc etc.).” Now being a minority myself (Mexican-American, if you are curious), it’s hard to ignore the utter lack of PoC protagonists in literature. It’s even more difficult to find books that feature racial/ethnic minorities and are part of the genres I enjoy. You have no idea how frustrating it can be, but that’s a topic for another time (diversity is good and we need more of it!). But I have managed to come up with a list of books with PoC characters that I have read and enjoyed (most are four- or five-star books). Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Ten Books That Feature PoC Characters:

1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer– takes place in New Beijing + Winter (the fourth book in the Lunar Chronicles) will feature a black protagonist.

2. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson – main character is a member of a native tribe.

3. Sanctum by Sarah Fine – features a Latina protagonist.

4. In the Time of Dragon Moon by Janet Lee Carey – the protagonist is biracial and there are also several characters who have a mixed heritage as well.

5. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han – features a biracial main character (Korean/white).

6. Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman – a unique spin on relations between white and black characters.

7. Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan – another biracial protagonist (Japanese/white).

8. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson – heavily influenced by Hispanic culture.

9. The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace – this book has a lot of Brazilian/Portuguese influences.

10. Angelfall by Susan Ee – although the author has expressed that her protagonist’s race is up to the reader’s interpretation, I have always pictured Penryn as Asian.

Have you read any of these? Please share some of your own favorite books that feature PoC characters in the comments, so I can check them out and be sure to leave a link to your own TTT post!

36 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books That Feature PoC Characters

  1. I can not believe that i forgot Tiger Lily on my list! I loved that book and not only is it a book about a tribe, but also the “father” is gay! how could i forgot! Thanks for reminding me 🙂
    And i will have to look into the Storyspinner because i keep forgetting about that book even though i have it on my TBR list.
    And Noughts and Crosses is one that i should finally get to as well!
    Great list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To All the Boys I’ve Loved before has been getting a lot of love this week and I feel so guilty that I haven’t read it yet. Ahhhh. Most of your list I didn’t even think of so you’ve really got a great list here darling!

    Nattie @ Book Rambles

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have the Girl of Fire and Thorns and Cinder on my list as well! I especially love the Girl of Fire and Thorns. I really love Angelfall as well. I’m definitely checking out the others on your list, like The Storyspinner and Tiger Lily!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: July ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

