Bookish Indecisions, #2: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Bookish IndecisionsThis is only my second Bookish Indecisions post where I ask you to help me decide if I should read a book or not. Michelle Hodkin’s The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was first published in 2011 and for whatever reason, I always avoided picking it up. Now, four years later and the entire series is now complete, and I’m on the fence about whether I should read the first book.

There are several different opinions on this book. Despite the fact that it has a 4.12 rating on Goodreads, I have come across several bloggers who were not very impressed by this book. I’ve recently been running out of books to put on hold for the library while I wait for certain books to become available and this is one I’ve been thinking about and have considered buying since it’s pretty cheap at the moment.

From Goodreads:

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

I think my main concern about this book is the love story. I haven’t heard any specifics, but for some reason I associate instalove with this book. I have no idea if this is accurate, so I’d love to hear from you. Is this a book I should pick up? Is my fear of instalove unfounded? Is there good character development? How’s the writing? Tell me the good and the bad, but try not to spoil. Please feel free to add a link in the comments to your review if you have written one. Please, help me decide!

27 thoughts on “Bookish Indecisions, #2: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

  1. I’ve read the first two books in this series, but have yet to finish it. I honestly couldn’t remember much about it so I looked at my review and this is one thing I said about the first book, “I was expecting something mind-twisty and supernatural. This book definitely has those elements, but for the most part I felt it was overshadowed by the romance plot line. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was more of a girly, high school book than anything else. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, it just wasn’t what I was expecting.” I gave the book overall 3 stars, which for me is a pretty decent rating. There were things that annoyed me, but there were other things that went well. The second book I liked the ending, but thought most of the book was boring and I compared Mara and Noah’s relationship to Edward and Bella. All that said, I still plan on reading the last book sometime. I look forward to hearing what you think if you decide to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • For some reason I got the feeling that this was the case. It sounds like such an interesting story, but I was worried that there would be a huge emphasis on the romance that might not be entirely necessary. This is definitely making me reconsider buying it. Thanks for your input!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I did not like the first book. I hated the romance and the main love interest. The romance really overshadows the main plot and mystery in the book. I still think you should read it though because everyone has their own opinions. While I didn’t enjoy it, it would be interesting to see what you think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m probably no help here because I haven’t read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer EITHER, but I want to! Usually if I’m not sure about a series, I just read the first book anyway and if I don’t like it after all, then it’s not big deal. It doesn’t bother me to not finish series… But IDK if you feel the same way.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t read the book, but the comments were very helpful. I doubt I’ll be picking it up any time soon. When romance overshadows the rest of the story, usually the book just isn’t for me (though there’ve been exceptions).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I read the first book and couldn’t put it down (I just went back and read my super enthusiastic review from 2012!) — but when I picked up a copy of the 2nd book, I only read about 50 pages before realizing that I just didn’t care at all. Never finished… and don’t really have any curiosity about what ended up happening. *shrug*

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I actually read this book in one day on its release day. I liked it a lot, but I also read it before I read too much about it. Hype can be a killer. I haven’t read anything else in the series, although they are on my shelf. I will probably do a reread of this one before moving on. I would say that you should read it if you like something that is strange and doesn’t always make complete sense. I go for that sort of thing personally.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I personally enjoyed it when I read it and I also loved the second book, but I read them about three or four years ago. It’s one of those books where I would suggest not going into with high hopes or judging every little thing. I think it’s more of a guilty pleasure read. I suggest reading the first 50 pages to decide if it’s for you or even a sample on Amazon. It’s one of those books that has a lot of negatives, but it’s also just a lot of fun to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I saw mixed reviews too, but only after I’d already bought the first book because of the hype. For the people who have loved it, they all say it’s very twisty, so I’m willing to give it a go. That and I LOVE those covers. R x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Kernels of Nonsense, #28: Discontinuing a Series | A Kernel of Nonsense

  10. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: July ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

