The Friday 56, #69: The Glass Castle

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Also be sure to leave me a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“Mom didn’t like cooking much–‘Why spend an afternoon making a meal that will be gone in an hour,’ she’d ask us, ‘when in the same amount of time, I can do a painting that will last forever?'”

I’ve had Jeannette Walls’s The Glass Castle on my shelf for a while now and while I don’t really read memoirs, this one sounded really interesting and I got it for super cheap. Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

From Goodreads:

The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn’t want the responsibility of raising a family.

The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered.

The Glass Castle is truly astonishing–a memoir permeated by the intense love of a peculiar but loyal family.”

25 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #69: The Glass Castle

  1. Whoops! I’m on my phone and my comment accidentally sent before I was finished. I was saying… I can relate to that, but still… you have to eat! And sometimes it’s nice to spend an entire afternoon working on some really nice food. Because FOOOOOOD. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Although memoirs aren’t exactly my go to genre either, this sounds really interesting! I think, from the F56, that I’d actually quite enjoy it so I’ve put it on my ever-growing TBR list! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My Friday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

